Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

To the Tree!

by Pan - Jam Entry

A small game for LD34.

You're a Christmas Ball lost on your way to the tree.
But you don't give up that easy! Find your way to the tree and grow on your way there.

The game has a checkpoint system as well as a slow motion option for a short time.

Hope you like it!

Controls: 'a' to select the function for 'd'

The game has also gamepad support. Press 'lb' to select the function of 'rb'

Info: You start in front of the goal but you must move first counter-clockwise through the level and pick up the green items. When grown you're able to make the jump.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2210Coolness20%

Comments

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:05am

I'm sorry, I'm on Linux, and I can't rate this.

Jon Reid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:11am

Interesting idea! i think this could be quite a fun little christmas game with a bit more time. It got a bit frustrating trying to time jumps while looping through the controls though.

Coomzy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:14am

Nice unique concept, although I think it's too slow paced, switch needs to be done differently for it to work.

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:16am

It was kinda fun. Was a bit skeptical to the controls at first, but after a while I found it enjoyable (but still in a frustating way).

kabel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:35pm

The controls are terrible, and therefore the entire gameplay is flawed. Because of the two button design the game is unenjoyable. The visuals aren't interesting either.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Works on OS/X

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Having played a few cycle-through-actions control methods, I'm just happy that we have controllers and keyboard with a LOT of controls. ;)

Looks nice, sound was a bit jarring. Good go.

LudoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:41pm

interesting controls

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]