Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Space Beards

by Gjarble - Jam Entry

Only YOU can shave the galaxy!

(Flash version playable above, Mac and Windows versions downloadable below. If you experience any bugs, please let me know which version you are playing.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#58Humor(Jam)3.90
#167Innovation(Jam)3.65
#191Theme(Jam)4.05
#427Fun(Jam)3.25
#584Overall(Jam)3.25
#884Graphics(Jam)2.60
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:57am

Cool idea, but the ship is really hard to control.

Gjarble says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:14pm

@The Merge Conflicts: Thanks! Do you have any suggestions for how I might improve the controls to make them easier to use?

Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:14am

Hilarious. Flying in space as a politician blowing up various beards and hair styles is absolutely awesome!

Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:25am

ahahhaahaha LOVE it!!!

Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:48am

Very amusing. Really liked the mechanic for making you stay close to the thing that can kill you. Nice job.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Fun, but the ship is difficult to control. Sometimes it locks in thrust mode

Gjarble says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:08pm

@UrbanHelsing: Oh! I was not aware of that bug. I wonder if that's the problem that The Merge Conflicts was having, too? I can't get it to lock in thrust mode- it there some situation in which it consistently locks up for you?

Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:43pm

I laughed, I cried... I got eaten by a beard. Good times.

Dayko says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Haha that was epic, i loved the setting and realization was very good. The grey skin and moving eyes add a nice touch to the creepy atmosphere :D

The fact that you can't fly through the head itself makes the controls quite hard but as i went to the end i suppose that it was not too difficult !

_benhumphries says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:23am

Cool concept, but the gameplay itself is kind of dull. The movement is hard to control, but I like how the eyes follow you around and I like how you thought of the shaping idea with the outline.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:25am

Funny idea but execution needs work. Controls don't seem to fit the game at all. The green bar at the bottom is confusing. I am stuck on the second level for the second time after resetting and still don't know how to progress.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:01am

Very fun. I guess this is what being a barber feels like! I liked the beard growing effects, too. Kind of scary when you got really close. And there's a lot of polish to be done, but I guess you know that :)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:09am

@Gjarble: The main problem for me is just how "slippery" the ship is. It seems like whenever I move in one direction then try to stop or turn, I keep going in that direction with a ton of force for a long time. I would just decrease how much the ship continues to move in it's current direction after the input is ceased or changed to a new direction. Hope that made sense :P If you ever change this, let me know, I'd love to try it again after adjustments.

johntherobot says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Fun! Gameplay is a little tricky, but I love the art and the concept!

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Ha! Never thought I'd play a game about growing/shaving a beard via spaceship. Nicely done! :D

Gjarble says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:58pm

@The Merge Conflicts: Yes, that's an excellent description. Thank you!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]