Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Flower

by EstrelSteel - Compo Entry

Note: if you think the early levels are too easy jump up to the challage(yellow button) levels.

Try and grow the proper amount of flowers to reach the goal. Over time, a flower will turn into a Wilted Flower, then a Withered Flower. By planting a flower(using space) on top of a Wilted or Withered Flower, the Wilted or Withered Flower will turn into a Golden Flower, which will not turn into a Wilted, nor Withered.

If a Withered flower is left for too long, it will turn into a Stone Flower, which cannot be turned back undone.

All levels require a certain amount of flowers to be living, and all levels require a certain percentage of planted flowers to be living.

Some levels have a unique twist to them. For instance, not allowing any Stone Flowers to develop, or a quadruple wilt rate, or only being able to use two buttons.

Controls:
~WASD, OKL;, or Arrow Keys for movement
~SPACE to grow flowers
~Any key to change direction on 2 button control levels

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#805Theme3.25
#820Innovation2.50
#863Graphics2.12
#912Overall2.56
#913Fun2.25
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

Oski says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Both of your Web links send me to a download.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:06pm

One thing I really love about java games is the small filesize :) But then the game just showed a blank, light-gray screen and nothing happend :(

bradur says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:23pm

It was a nifty little idea, but I found it quite easy. I was able to finish each level by just running in circles and spam the space key :P. The graphics were OK and the game worked fine.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:56pm

i was having some fun until i dont understand why my flowers were dying.
Also you should set to when you go on the button, then press space, you change the level. Dont use the mouse at all =]

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Interesting idea, but I found it really hard to play. I couldn't really tell when a flower was wilting or not and getting wilted flowers to turn gold was really difficult.. unless employing the method bradur mentioned/

Switchiers says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Good game, but need more work !

Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:42am

Interesting game. Sort of difficult to accurately replant over dying flowers.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:02am

I'd also suggest trying to cut out using the mouse for anything as well. Unfortunately I didn't find the mechanic particularly engaging. Having a tutorial or explanation in game may remedy that. Regardless keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]