Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Flower Son

by Stephen Patrick - Compo Entry

Basic Controls:

Z - Reverse Time

X - Place a seed to jump on, or mark the sun to boost when passing through it's rays.

(M) - Cycle through sound options (On, Off, half volume)


You are a sunflower whose mother has fallen ill. Use your inexplicable time-travel abilities to find something out there in the world that might bring her back to health.



This game is best-optimized to be played on Chrome due to its engine, CraftyJS.

Audio was made with Bosca Ceoil and BFXR.

Detailed Controls:

This game is an autorunner where pressing Z will "reverse time", or send you backwards. When going back in time you do not collide with anything but the floor and can retreat to a safe position if you fall into a pit of spikes (for example).

When going forward in time, pressing X will place a mark for the next time you time travel to focus the sun on that position. When you then hit that focused sun (when going forward in time), you'll be boosted forward.

When going backward in time, pressing X will place a seed. This seed, the next time you time travel, will grow into a plant which will bounce you if you run into it.

Despite having only two buttons, the things you can do with just these interactions is a bit complex, and the last puzzles in the game (along with the collectable sun-drops along the way) will demand that you've mastered these controls and their quirks, which may seem un-intuitive. Some hints towards these:

Going back in time drops your momentum entirely and gives you a default speed.

You only trigger new jump-plants and new sun-rays to spawn when switching from reverse-time to forward-time.
You can only interact with jump-plants and sun-rays when going forward in time.

Hitting obstacles sets your speed to zero, but only during forward time.



Known bugs that aren't getting fixed for the ludum dare version:

If you try really hard you can make yourself move really slow by timing boosts / hitting spikes. Reset this by walking into a spike.

Replaying the game (once completed) without a refresh of the browser causes several things to break.

You can't skip the intro until the game has loaded the map, which it does in the background. (You can mash continue before the map is loaded, though)


Updates after deadline (CST):

10:00 PM Dec. 13: Fixed bug preventing ending from being reached.
2:00 AM Dec. 14: Fixed that same bug but for real this time.
11:00 PM Dec. 28: Fixed bug with piston positioning that would occasionally render game unfinishable.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#254Innovation3.53
#535Audio2.53
#536Overall3.17
#559Mood2.86
#586Fun3.00
#650Theme3.53
#766Graphics2.50

Comments

brandloose says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:26am

Fun, but the beginning scene didn't seem to do anything, or maybe I'm just dumb.

pparke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:33am

Feels like it could improve with a little more time spent on it. Having the combination of boost and jump controlled by one button was a little confusing.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36am

the game was interesting, i like how you had to switch over to do stuff.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36am

Cool but one button for 2 things. made it a bit hard to know what was going to happen.

Jordan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:42am

I like the art, reminds me of Proteus.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:46am

I got stuck right before the darker forest. It's pretty fun though

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:47am

I like the concept but it gets confusing to understand whats happening in the game most of the times!
Nice game overall! :)

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:45am

The art look simple but quite cool and it fits the game quite well. I love the idea of a single button do two things but it is also very challenging for me. I managed to get through quite a bit of it but got stuck in a section where there is a lot of platforming and a mistake requires me to redo the whole sequence. It is a fun game. The audio is nice too. Well done!

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:02pm

the tutorial was very helpful. It seems you spent a lot of thought on this, I can really sense a 'living' world, nice story, and really interesting gameplay.

I can see this taking a long time to master, and I'm really interested in more puzzles that you'll bring to this if you choose to continue with it [which I think you should].

Reminds me a little of spoiler alert, very fun, and well done! :)

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Thanks for your feedback!

Your game is really well thought-out. The game-mechanics make this more of a puzzler than a platformer, which is really cool. It reminded me of Braid, which is a good thing :)
The music fits the art style, but the sound effects get a little annoying after a while. Also the intro screen didn't work in my case.

Very good job!!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53pm

A little clarification: You can't skip the intro until it's loaded the map. (You can mash continue before the map is loaded though)

Sokar92 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58am

Funny, but lacks substance, both graphics and fluidity. Good job.

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46am

Took me a bit to understand what was going on. I like the concept though, and good job on the art!

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:47am

Very neat. I was surprised at the large number of things you can do with just those two abilities, and you did a nice job highlighting them with the level design. I appreciate that while the game is definitely very challenging, it's not overly punishing with no way to die and frequent "safe" spots to return to after missing a jump.

prymidion says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Good stuff, hombre! You can tell you put a lot of effort into puzzle/level design, and that totally shows

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Really innovative mechanics and nice use of 2 button controls! I like how you managed to weave reflective problem solving nicely into the mechanics but still have it require some foresight when placing the light beams.

JoseArias says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:46pm

I really like it. Maybe a bit confusing (if you need to set the sun, plant in a small space) but it was very fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]