Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Nearing Extinction

by AlexLamarche - Compo Entry

--Nearing Extinction--

A small island got infected with a virus. You must defeat the growths and survive as long as you can!

Remember, move quick and try to save the world ;)

Controls:
LMB: Shoot toward mouse.
RMB: Move toward the mouse.

Objective:
Kill the growths and try to survive as long as possible. Don't let the infection percent reach 100.

*Comment the highest wave you made it to*
It's a little slow at the start, but then it picks up pretty quick.

LUNIX AND MAC USERS:
Unity bugged out on me last second. So the only way you can play the game is if you open it up in unity (I included the source). Sorry :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#439Overall3.29
#463Fun3.17
#493Audio2.61
#606Graphics2.88
#629Humor2.00
#630Mood2.76
#642Theme3.54
#661Innovation2.83
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

zamotany says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:11am

Great game!

Bailman03 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:12am

Like you said it was really slow in the start but then it was fun once it got going!

matthewd673 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:14am

If you give me the build settings info I'd be happy to build the Mac and Linux versions for you!

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:16am

I'm sorry, I don't have Unity and I run Linux, so I can't play!

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:24am

Ah, the good ol' wave-based shooter game.
As you said, slow at the start. The controllers worked well. The music could use some work though.

bearcabin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:28am

Impressed you made a shooter with only two buttons. The controls worked well, good job!

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:28am

It starts extremely slow, but after that the mechanics are nice and its a good idea! Well done!

ORECROS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:35am

The fact that the enemies don't hurt yo directly makes for some pretty interesting gameplay. removing infection is way more expensive than it should be. add more machines, I feel like if you automated alot of things this game would be interesting. Virus extractors to keep the damage down, radars to show where enemies are. that'd be pretty cool

Baecun says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:37am

I made it to wave 11. Up until wave 9 it was really boring, if I'm being honest. The controls felt great, and I really liked the mood that the game was setting visually, but I think the music sort of ruined it (a bit too repetitive, if you ask me). I know it can get hard to have time for music in just 48 hours, so I ignored that and played until level 11, even though the music made me want to quit at around wave 3. The concept was great, I loved it, but because the first waves are so slow, and the player is able to set turrets forever, when you get to the exciting waves you already have enough money to cover the map with turrets or just press "Kill All" when it gets hard. I hope I'm not coming off as too harsh, because I did like the concept a lot. It was pretty good for such a small amount of time to make, and this is definitely something I would buy on Steam if it were a bit more developed.

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:41am

Like bailman said, it starts out slow, but really hits the fan in the later waves. Despite that I ended up stopping at about wave 15, because I kind of got pretty much all I could out of the game by that point unfortunately. If something was shooting back at you, you had to replenish ammo, or could upgrade your turrets then I probably would have enjoyed it a bit more. Other than that, fantastic job! I especially liked the mini-map, it's a godsend because it saves you from just aimlessly wandering past wave 10, when there's always something to shoot.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:50am

So.. I gave up: https://i.gyazo.com/394742ab8f60ffd9a80228f489de40f9.png

Hhaha, well done bro!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:02am

It was pretty nice. Pacing maybe should've been faster throughout-- early on it was too easy, and later on the turrets did all the work. I got to wave 23 with a map full of turrets before I stopped playing.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:29am

Great game, nice job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Very fun game!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Played till level 25, won the past 5 levels by just sitting and watching turrets kill everything.
The game was most interesting at 10-15 levels :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:44am

really nice take on tower defense - nice job

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Nice take on the theme, graphics and gameplay are OK. I'd like to be able to shoot directly up/down but that's a minor note. Minimap inclusion was cool, nice job. A fun little game! :D

Yvanor says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:30pm

I've been to the wave 20. I really liked this game, the only problem is, it's too easy. It would be great to add some kinds of enemies. Anyway, I had fun, well done ^^

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:06pm

The Journal of an Unnamed Soldier:

"Day (Wave) 55, they just keep coming.. But I think we'll be alright. They were slow to arrive, but now they leave almost instantly. I... don't even know what to do with myself anymore.. I don't even have to fire.. Somehow, amidst all this fighting for survival... I've become a mechanic.

Some 300 or so turrets later and all I do is spend my time watching them explode.. It was tough at first. Running around.. getting them off the island as soon as possible.. now I can't even make it to them before they're gone.

I suppose I should find something to eat... Haven't really had anything all this time... I'd plant some crops.. but it seems like I'm just growing turrets at this rate... I wonder how wrought iron tastes....."

So, yea. A fun game. I would definitely recommend balancing it a bit. For the last 30 waves at least I just went and did other things while waiting for cash to build up.. Then I placed more turrets. :P

Maybe make it so that infection didn't reset at the end of a wave? Then buying percent resets would be a must. I bought a killall once... was a waste of money. :P Would have been better to make turrets. :P

Oh, and think you have a bug in your projectile code. I can't help but notice if I point in any quadrant other than Quadrant I (i.e. upper-right) the bullets I shoot don't pass through my cursor. Maybe this is because I ran the game in WINE, but I dunno. I don't have Windows. :P

So yea... I'm gonna leave it on overnight and see what wave I get too. I'm trying to cover the island in turrets. :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]