Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Holy Cow in a Combine!

by Gray Sullivan - Compo Entry

Hey guys, this is the second time that I have participated in Ludum Dare, and honestly I'm just happy that I finished because 21 hours in, my original idea turned out horribly so I created this in only 27 hours!

Once upon a time, there was a cow.
He lived on a farm in a faraway land.
BUT THEN- A giant combine started chasing him down the never-ending field.

You are that cow.

All you must do to survive:

Move left and right to avoid the tractors with the arrow keys.
Don't run into the wheat fields.
Eat hay bales to outrun the combine.

Survive as long as you can because the field never ends!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#263Audio3.11
#293Humor2.78
#526Graphics3.00
#625Theme3.55
#814Overall2.80
#840Fun2.55
#916Innovation2.05
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

Boberro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Solid game. Maybe little too difficult.

dkilford says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:34am

I really liked this game. It's nice and simple, and the weighty controls give it a flappy bird frustration and repeat cycle which works really well for it.

A couple of times I was given unwinnable layouts, but I didn't feel too frustrated by it. Good work!

sbot1101 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:19am

I get this when trying to run on windows- "A Java Exception has occurred."

Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:34am

A great little game, but my fun was curtailed by the frequency I ended up with unbeatable situations. Get the tractor spacing right and it would be so much more fun.

JohnWatmuff says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:36pm

lol. gruesome! so hard!

DissonEnt says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:43am

Could make for a great infinite runner mobile game like Crossy Road. Just need to make sure that at any moment the lane is passable.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:28am

On-theme, very difficult to get far due to RNG presenting unbeatable layouts. Amusing idea though.

Loneshark says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:12am

I got to 30 points after a few tries but never really saw any hay bales.

These kind of games remind me of updated versions of the old Tiger Electronics hand-helds.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]