Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Stricken Chicken

by Picking a username is hard - Jam Entry

Controls: WASD to move. Space to shoot. Arrow keys are programmed to work, but they might cause the screen to move.
Take control as a turkey who is fed up with everyone loving chickens too much. Over feed the chickens with your state of the art "Chicken Food Blaster" (It's a cheap knock off of the AK-47) and attack Chickens until they explode from eating too much!
Please leave a comment of what you think. It means a lot to get feedback :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#39Humor(Jam)4.00
#273Fun(Jam)3.47
#632Overall(Jam)3.20
#700Theme(Jam)3.47
#791Graphics(Jam)2.87
#2073Coolness26%

Comments

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:05pm

I love the sillyness. The game works quite well. If you have the time, I would look at polishing your game to look a little better, but overall you've made a nice game.

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Funny little game, not very innovative, gameplay is very simple and the graphics are sub-par, but that's fine.

I had a good time playing nonetheless, but I probably wouldn't replay this game due to the simplicity of the gameplay.

Like the mood, was funny for a while, and good job :)

Things you could work on:
- Better audio, more music, turn the volume of the effects down as they were too loud in comparison to the background music.

- Work on the graphics style, graphics make simple games turn into great games :)

That's it, thanks for your submission, I hope to see you make games in future Ludum Dare's as well!

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:48am

Ohhh, you're a sneaky dev.. nice level design! It's comical and simple, makes it a nice recipe for found. Found myself hooked longer than I expected to be!

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:23am

I'm on board for all the sillyness this game has to offer. Gameplay is functional, graphics are a inconsistent and the level design could be a lot better. However, as I played this I could see that the people who made this had a lot of fun and that was a cool experience for me to play it on the stream, where we were also having fun while watching / playing this game.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:40am

Good understanding of growing))) "I'm f*cking Turkey Montana..". Fun game)) Thx

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Lots of sillyness and addicting, except for the last level. All was good, but it isn't fun spawned into flying spikes and if no time to think bout anything.

Not a bad game, but that part just destroyed my view of the game.

axoona says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 12:02pm

the concept is very interesting and nice ramp up in difficulty, the levels are well designed as well.

it gets very difficult when the ninja arrive, it's a pity you can't kill them (or is ot just me that didn't succed?).
an unlimited number of lives on a level could be helpful to appreciate the game more as achiving past levels again does not bring anything new so it's just frustrating to go through them all over again...
but overall I think the game is fun to play and has nice potential, you should just polish it a bit

Big Cow says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Good sense of humour. I like that they grow till they explode. It was fun and silly. Well done :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]