Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

2Door

by Polith Games - Jam Entry

2 Door is an interative/puzzle game made to be our entry for Ludum Dare #34 which theme is " two buttons" and/or "growing".

The game is about following the right path, guided by the form and sound of illuminated doors. Choose the right path and pass trough all 6 chambers.

Controls:
Left and right arrow keys to choose the door.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#18Audio(Jam)4.32
#46Mood(Jam)4.13
#58Graphics(Jam)4.47
#196Overall(Jam)3.68
#280Innovation(Jam)3.46
#350Theme(Jam)3.85
#765Fun(Jam)2.85
#823Humor(Jam)1.92

Comments

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Amazing entry. Cool graphics ! Great Mood !

Harsay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:31pm

I love it!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Wow this looks good! And it sounds really nice too. And plays quite well... Ok, you nailed it, congrats!!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:27pm

It's not often that i can rate "mood" on a projects without thinking "why the hell is this even a thing to vote on??".

I'm terrible at remembering things but i tried to remember the music notes instead of the icons itself, which helped a lot.

Some of the rooms look really nice, the art style is great in general.

Good job!

Hoffmann says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:06pm

That's a very interesting entry! Well done!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:53am

Great ideia! Nice graphics and sound is amazing!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Very slick presentation, and really good audio.
It's a fun concept, too bad it is a bit short. It would be fun of you had to solve puzzles with sound to advance to the next room.

Overall very well done!

Next time please make a WebGL build, so Chrome users can play it in their default browser ;)

hoqjed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Phenomenal graphics and mood, like wow. I think there's too much stuff before the player actually gets to play, like listening to the notes repeat three times :(

Ampera says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:34pm

GREAT AND INNOVATIVE

Seriously you did a great job.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Very nice game. The mood and audio are awesome. I love the finals messages, so poetic.

elliottd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:38pm

good visuals, really nice rooms. I found it was easier if i focused on the shapes of the symbols.

Dalkor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Art style is great. Audio is great. Fun and challenging take on memory puzzles.

lurils says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:40pm

good entry, could become a really nice game if expanded upon.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Wow... Really cool game! You made a nice atmosphere here. Nice job.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Simple game play but it's very good, plus I think you got the difficulty just right. Love the sound of it. It's not very humorous though.

Ping78 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Amazing game. Nice audio. Great graphics.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Fun game, i loved visual effects, really elegant and stylish. Gameplay is also pretty nice.

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Cool entry. The different environments were awesome! :D

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:43pm

A little hard at the start but really nice entry rain sounds, and ambience in general. Good Job!

Meta-link says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Really great experience !
I totally loved the graphics and the global mood, good job !

Farelle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24pm

heh a little lower difficulty level and I would have progressed O.o I tried several times but often ended up getting last note wrong XD
I have no idea what the game is about, but it sure looks good :D and sounds good and plays good.

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:47am

Very well made and atmospheric. Great job.

lawendt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:24am

The game is beautiful, the audio is amazing. 5/5 in Graphics/Audio and Mood!

tweedle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:34am

Beautiful, very nice work!

LxStudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:04am

Cool concept. Beautiful work on sound and graphics. Great work.

suppi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:10am

Very cool game. the visuals are great and the sound as well. Not very challenging though. good work!

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Phenomenal work! I loved the cool graphical effects in each of the rooms. Audio was top notch and was very important for this game.

I especially love the glyphs made for this game. It's really cool to see developers make a "language" for their worlds :)

I was actually surprised that I won on my first try because I'm usually bad with memorization. I thought it was little short, but the polish shines here. Nice work!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Very atmospheric game! But I can't play because of my weak audio memory =(

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Simple, polished and beautiful looking! I like the idea, I would like it to be a bit longer

Wolve says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Not my type of game, but what it tries to be it does very well. Really nice graphics, sounds and atmospehere

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:41pm

What an unique entry! First time I found something with such an incredible mood. Great work here! Congratz.

GogglesKitty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:42pm

interesting take on memorization, I enjoyed it.

Dege says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Stylish! Loved the glitch-like shaders. Looks easy but it's not. Symbols are different but difficult to memorize/distinguish at the same time, as they should ;)

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:01am

This was some really nice experience, thank you! Best mood I've seen so far, gorgeous graphics and sound. Is it possible to rate more than 5 here?)

kaotiklabs says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:07am

Great entry, love the visuals!

yhsper says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:16am

Very nice graphics and sound, each room has its own very distinctive style. I only wish it was longer, maybe we could explore each room before we go further? Congrats on the entry!

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:36am

wish it had been a bit longer! Great stuff, incredible visuals.

Melusine says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:06am

Really cool graphics love it

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:16am

Graphics and mood = great. Gameplay? Well.. it's just a Simon clone.. I don't really like Simon. :S I got to the end first try though.

Jwatt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:54am

This has quite many layers of misdirection to hide what's "only" a memory game at its core. It's moody as heck though, I'll give you that... couldn't have expected an entry like this from a two-button restriction.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:16am

Unfortunately too short but whats there is really cool. I love how different each room is and the whole atmosphere.

radmars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:38am

Wowww I absolutely love this concept. Even as a musician, it was a bit tough for me at first to identify it just by the sound, so I ended up using the icons for my first win - though for my second playthrough I forced myself to only go by audio. This game is beautifully executed on all fronts. Awesome work! :D

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:21am

Magnificent atmosphere. Great game, I have no words.

Dianouille says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Really good entry ! The graphics are amazing, and the gameplay is innovative and fun. Good job !

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Simple concepts but really well presented!
The graphics are pro-level, they are really stunning!
I like this game!

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Simon says... what do I say? Cool game. :)

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:22am

Good idea for the game. Loved the music, the art and the theme itself.

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:54am

Extremely beautiful game in many ways! Nice job! Would have been nice with multiple levels/streaks as completion was quite fast.

Wir says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Great game, a bit short though ^^

sputnik says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Really nice graphique! Very polished entry.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:26am

An interesting take on Simon. It seemed fun. I wish I wasn't crap at it.

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:10am

how do I know whether I chose right or not?

wilbefast says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Excellent polish :) Feels very finished. I managed to win but then I got a very simple A,B,A,B,A pattern on my second try: might need some restriction on the "level generation" so to speak. Otherwise it's a lovely little game, my compliments :)

PS - I love footstep sounds ^^

OctoStudio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:23pm

You're my favorite! I loved the visual and the gameplay.

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Nice little game. Interesting way of using the two button mechanics to do a 'simon' type game. Awesome style and presentation. Would love to see multiple levels with more complex combinations etc.

kaa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Very good game! Best graphics, sound, animations! A little bit too simple though

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Wow, excellent audio and visuals. Short and sweet. I like it.

tribrain says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Excellent entry!! COngrats!!

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Great visuals and audio. Sadly the game is very short.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Nice twist on the Simon Memory Game. ;)

I like the atmosphere in this game. It's sort of like a strange arcane technological mashup.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:13pm

i really enjoyed this game and would be interesting to see an expanded version with more music, great job :)

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:53pm

cool entry with very interesting art style!

fergarram says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:39am

Too short

huminaboz says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:56am

First try first prize, amirite?

Love the graphics.

Neil says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:13am

Amazing graphics and presentation! A very good implementation of the theme.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:42am

Trippy!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Very captivating and haunting experience. The graphics and use of shaders are really well done in this game and fitted the lowpoly artstyle.

It plays very nice too, like a small little mediative experience with the memorization aspect granting it a little bit of a difficulty.

All in all, pretty well done :).

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Really moody and I love the graphics!
good job!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:13pm

This is very very polished and focused. As a musician I really enjoyed it and went through a couple replays just for the ambiance and to see more skins on the rooms.

I just wish there was more of it-- I mean its already like a super pretty and immersive version of Simon, right? so why not run with it- add one extra note to the music patterns each run.

Still it looked very professional and put together, good job.

FiSilva says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Amazing graphics, sounds and atmosphere, really polished. I loved it!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Super polished, interesting mechanics and great audio!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:12pm

So basically all you have to do in this game is to memorize the melody, which is not much of a challenge. But the visuals and mood are awesome, great job!
By the way, it was great to see somebody else make a game based on the same concept as I did (2 doors in every room, you must choose one)

crucknuk says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Nice entry! It was quite an experience! Some rooms were really well designed! Good job ;)

LittleThor says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Gorgeous. Smart. And such a good mood! I loved it!
The "replayability" is a good point too.
Very good game.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:39pm

Brilliant game. Love the sound and feel of it. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/3B2_gBg5rhI

TaoPhoenix says ...
Feb 10, 2016 @ 3:59am

I agree with most of the above, nailed the presentation. I think it's not at all a clone of Simon because the distraction factor begins to get to you! I believe this could actually have use with psychologists!

And it has a Phoenix!! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]