Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Demon Truck

by madjackmcmad - Compo Entry

DEMON TRUCK WILL SCRIBE FOR YOU THESE FIRST OF 666 TRUTHS:

1) YOU WILL MASH THE LEFT SIDE OF YOUR KEYBOARD TO CHARGE RAMFULLY

2) YOU WILL MASH THE RIGHT SIDE OF YOUR KEYBOARD TO SHOOT YOUR HELLGUNS

3) DEMON TRUCK WILL NAVIGATE THE ROAD. DO NOT BACKSEAT DRIVE.

***
I lost about 12 hours due to a power outage, so this is not a complete game. There's no win condition and no way to die, but does end after a brief period. I wrapped it up so that you could have a good time for a few minutes, and I could maintain my commitment to the spirit of the Ludum Dare.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#21Fun4.06
#37Overall4.06
#79Humor3.58
#105Mood3.68
#184Graphics3.75
#264Innovation3.51
#317Theme3.92

Comments

sorlok says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47am

Wow, that was great! Really good use of the theme. Loved the upgrades, had a lot of fun playing this!

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Hah! This is so great.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:47pm

nice game, i like how it ramped up with excitement.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:06pm

cool, very funny game, well done

Vertigon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:45pm

This has such a great feel, really kinetic, funny and badass. Unfinished you say? Shots, flamethrowers, rockets, it's pretty darn fun regardless.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:39pm

I truely love it!

grama says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:55pm

mad max ftw! love it, quite cool, simple, but well made.

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Great use of the theme, and excellent ramp up near the end! Became really hectic, awesome, and a lot of fun! Also, Game Over sound effect was a great cherry on top.

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Cool game! I like the idea very manic and fast pasted!

Robin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Very fun, too bad it isn't finished yet. Graphics were great and I liked the overall atmosphere :D

homer_3 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:56am

Wow! This was great! Great art, funny, and fun. I hope you expand on it.

foyosoft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:24am

Great fun!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Nice entry, loved the mass of particles flying around

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:38am

Great way to tackle the theme. Fun game, enjoyed it

Docjekyll says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:58pm

I had fun ramming and shoosting.
Maybe you could also expand on demon truck's backstory. Why does he ram? Why does he shoot?
Perhaps there's a bit of demon truck inside each of us.

richardboegli says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:36am

LOLed "Demon truck drives on its own hellish free will"
ROFL Rawket Lawn Chair!

Welldone great game.

AlmightyTuna says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Fantastic game, awesome graphics, super satisfying to play. Top notch

Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:28pm

I liked this a lot. Reminded me of Mad Max. Liked the controls and the escalating weapons. Would make a good mobile game if you decide to continue it.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Good game! I liked your implementation of the 2-button theme, with each weapon also replenishing the other one; I think it needs some balancing for it was easy to deplet both bars and it was a bit frustrating to have no way to attack when it happened. Nice graphics and sound, too, though I missed some music in there (probably some good ol' rock 'n roll!). A pity you couldn't put some winning/losing conditions in there, I had some fun with the mechanics for sure.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:00pm

V8, shiny and chrome. Great humor elements in there too. I will play again, Witness me!

mockthebear says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:34pm

10/10
I might have damaged for realz my keyboard. but who cares? i had fun in an awesome game!

UncleChris says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:42pm

I enjoyed the game, quite fun. I think even with the loss of time, this was a pretty awesome game! Loved the audio and sound, made it for me - and great examples of unobtrusive sound that adds to the game.

Gamepopper says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:21pm

Michael Bay would be proud. :')

Really fun idea, with an overload of firepower. Really fun to play, so great job!

x92rwzb says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:39pm

Amazing game. I really liked the game over screen! Also very cool graphics and sounds.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]