Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hammer Time

by demogorgon - Compo Entry

Play as Thor with a defective hammer on his quest to kill Santa Claus.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#161Humor3.18
#634Graphics2.83
#644Innovation2.87
#683Fun2.87
#746Theme3.35
#760Overall2.91
#794Mood2.40
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Diventurer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Amusing game. I would love some music and sound effects though.

arseneauol says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:05pm

non

Doctor_N says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Yeah music would have been good and I'm not sure how it fits the theme

Rocketship says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:08pm

The dialogue is funny and the gameplay is simple but fun. I'd like to see more feedback from the game. Right now it was hard to tell when I took damage and the axe feeling a bit underwhelming made me a bit sad. Still good job with it, it's fun to play!

knason says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Nice game, I like the Christmas theme :-) Good job!

fafastudio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:10pm

The intro and santa dialog was funny ! I found a position where i can't be touch except by the boss ^^

Yvanor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Oh man, this game is sooo much stupid, I love it :') I have only three things to say: the game windows is too small, add some sounds would be great and boss is very easy to kill. That's all, thanks for the laugh ^^

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Fun and good game! Cute little snow particle and unexpected humor. Well done :)

SoulBound says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:52am

Interesting game. It is pretty easy though. The graphics are nice and I like how you incorporated the holidays into your game.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:32am

I like your storytelling style.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Nice challenging game, cool gameplay and fun to play! :D

Taffaz says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Cool game but could use some music. I had terrible aim.

BooleanByte says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Nice game, like the intro. Was a bit confused at first as the aim of the hammer folowed relattive to Thor instead of the ground. The elvs need some mopre randomizing of when they throw. Was able to stay at ca. the biddle of the screen and noticed they would never hit me then. But boss hasn't that problem.

Big Cow says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:28am

Innovative use of two mouse buttons. Liked the boomerang affect on the hammer. Had to get timing just right to hit the targets and avoid hitting things so nice multitasking challenge. Good work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]