Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Power Disney Princess Simulator 5000

by socapex - Compo Entry

Gather fuzzy friends! Fight the boss! Fight the boss again!

This is my first LD, and I think I tried to bite a little too much. The end result actually works (!), but the cats are a bit buggy sometimes. Use a-d to move, spacebar to jump, and click on critters to get a contextual menu.

Everything grows! Except you ;)

Hope you enjoy o/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#202Mood3.41
#278Innovation3.47
#285Audio3.08
#351Graphics3.34
#389Humor2.56
#709Overall2.97
#725Theme3.38
#789Fun2.66

Comments

pparke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:40am

Would've loved to play it, sounds like it's really cool but it isn't working for me. I'm on Linux though and there might still be issues with the Unity web player and my distro. Couldn't get it to work after downloading either :(

illblew says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43am

I love the mood and cats of course. I also really enjoyed the art style!

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43am

i got "sorry chrome can't run this app"

Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

SuperDolfy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44am

Loved it!

socapex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:46am

It seems I shouldn't have updated to Unity5.3 before the comp, the webplayer doesn't seem to be updated :(

pparke: There is both a 32 & 64bit linux version... But the webplayer seems broken (even for me).

5you: chrome doesn't support the web players anymore. I tried exporting to webgl, but it doesn't work with dropbox and I had no more time to debug, sorry.

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47am

Cool atmosphere! The floating white boxes were a little confusing and frustrating when the cats got all stuck in them. I really liked the art and mood in this.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:51am

A fun idea, but it was kind of jittery and I'm not sure I was doing it right. Jeff still a bit buggy too

socapex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:10am

Ty for the positive comments!

It's absolutely buggy :/ I practically designed everything wrong (code-wise) and bugs appeared everywhere the last day. The game would've needed some major refactoring to fix some of the issues, but no time. Hopefully you can look over the flying cats ^_^

#ItsNotABugItsAFeature

Membrane says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20am

I would love to see this idea fleshed out more. The gameplay is lacking but the core idea is very interesting and cool. Good atmosphere, too.

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:53am

I loved the blood! It spewed everywhere.

I'm curious if people are team cat or team bat now.

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:28am

Beautiful pixel art and great concept! I'd love to see this polished up a bit (it's still pretty buggy). Great work and adorable cats =^*w*^=

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:51am

Love the mood and the cats. Purrs. Simple art. Good Game.

socapex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:28am

Ok, so I made an account on itch, which accepts webgl content. The web version should now work on Chrome, on Linux and all :)

kostak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:57am

It is a strange thing, but atmospheric.
The theme is fully respected.
Good luck!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:06am

Really cool game, ended up with a huge army of animals. Interesting take on the theme. Good job!

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:27am

An army of animals is a pretty cool thing! nice concept!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:30am

I really enjoyed your game!
At first I was a bit confused, mostly because of the paper sprite covering the pet info.
You could continue this and polish a bit more to become a great game.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:44am

Some great graphics! And I love the mood too.

Dalkor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:48am

One of the more unique entries. I liked it. Enjoyed the simplicity of the artwork.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:32am

She wakes up but doesn't remember where from. Above her the sky is a pixelated tapestry of pinks and copied clouds. She hears the sound of a cat. Cute. And there a bird. Where they come from isn't important, they become her friends.

Pop! Another cat? Another Bird? but where from? No matter. They can be her friends to.

Pop! Pop! More? But... okay. Friends friends friends. Pop Pop Pop! They keep coming! What is this place and Why are the animals all so friendly? Wait? Look at that! They're clones!

Even the big ones are just copies of the little ones. They all look at her with the same smile. "You are our friend," they say in saccharine unison, "We will never leave you."

Unnerved she get up and backs away. One of the dogs (or was it a cat?) teleports one foot up in the air and floats back down towards her. Pop. the birds circle her and dive into the ground as if reality were a play thing. As if she were a play thing.

She runs and comes to a steep drop. A robot stands solemnly with open arms in the gulch below. IT will help her, she knows this.

NO! The "friends" attack it in a bloody kamikaze! The robot is tossed backwards as bird guts splatter across its chrome chest. "Robot is not our friend," say two cats with their entrails hanging loosely. "Only you are our friend. Our friend forever".

She tries to object but can't. She pulls down her scarf and feels sealed skin where lips should be. She has no mouth and must scream

...


FUN! I liked the soft music and the art style! It was relaxing to collect animals, and fun watching them to attack the robot. Obviously you wanted to get in more content, but it's a great start :D

socapex says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:00am

BoxedMeatRevolution, you my friend, just made my day! XD Ty for sharing your experience in such a beautiful and descriptive way, I feel all fuzzy inside ^_^

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:24pm

great game, got the pokemon feel with catch and battle :p
live the pixelated visual, match really well with the sound design :)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Rather buggy, but the game has potential.

Mantlair says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:13am

Nice ambient tone and realistic bat AI. Gameplay is kinda simple but dude it's a game jam so. Awesome job! Also I enjoyed the selection disc!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]