Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Planet God

by Doctor_N - Compo Entry

========================================================================

UPDATE 2: POST JAM VERSION NOW AVAILABLE AT HTTP://INDUSTRIAL-GAMES.NET/

UPDATE: IF YOU ARE STRUGGLING TO PLAY THE GAME ON WINDOWS UPDATE JAVA.
IF ALL ELSE FAILS TRY THE .JAR FOUND HERE:

http://industrial-games.net/planet/planet_windows.jar

========================================================================

Using just the two left and right arrow keys, control the weather on your very own world in an attempt to create new life! Combine meteor showers with lightning and volcanic eruptions to nurture or destroy your randomly generated world as you choose... On this world, you are the god.

For more games by me visit http://industrial-games.net/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#40Theme4.36
#67Innovation3.95
#99Graphics4.05
#161Mood3.50
#218Overall3.59
#393Audio2.82
#458Fun3.18
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:25am

Seems like an interesting concept, but a few hints on how to get started would be nice. Can't get any O2 or life to start forming

Doctor_N says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:23am

You don't need O2 for plants all you need is an ocean and some lightning and eventually it will pop out of nowhere

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:07am

Ohhhh, lightning and an ocean. But what about the temperature? I can't seem to stabilize it, also is it F, K, or C? I'll play some more tomorrow, but some more feature hints would be nice :P

Doctor_N says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28am

It's in degrees celcius so life appears between 20 and 45 degrees. It should drop towards 0 constantly but you can warm the planet with the odd comet but be careful because that'll destiny your plants (when you get them)

Doctor_N says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:29am

Sorry in advance I ran out of time before I could add animals so once you unlock life you only have a small period before you run out of CO2! Long enough to have fun trying to stabilise your fluid and temperature though

Cruso says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:59pm

This gets marked as a virus under Avast and Zillya.
I think a virustotal report should be required to upload to ludum dare.
"totallysaveexe.exe" ...

https://www.virustotal.com/de/file/ec468fd434df4f340b0ac003cd785d9a6c0c2202a23590a2d5a4fb381286b6ae/analysis/

teeth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:31am

I've never appreciated the fact that we have life on this planet so much @_@

Finestep says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49am

Sounds seemed rather loud

v01pe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Cn't really play on my Retina screen, it seems to not respect the display DPI seetings … if I run it I only see half of the content… it looks nice from the screens tho…

DonEngland says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Could not launch the windows version?

Doctor_N says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02pm

If you're struggling to play the windows version make sure you have Java installed and if it still isn't working try the .jar instead: http://industrial-games.net/planet/planet_windows.jar

YinYin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Could not launch the windows version either.
Am on 8.1

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Very pretty and cool concept.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Didnt manage to get any wildlife on my planet :<
Tried hard to grow the plants but they would suck all the h20 faster then i could ever possibly produce it.
Good game concept though!

Doctor_N says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Yeah I ran out of time before I could add wildlife but I will be doing some patches and re-uploading to my website

zebi24 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:42pm

It's a really special game. Loved it.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:58pm

What a concept... Well done guys!

newbeings says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:54pm

I loved this! Good job. Totally worth pursuing. I played for a while.

Just gonna let my mind go on this:
I'd love to see conditions other than earth like life. Or maybe you can start multiple planets and then you have control of a solar system where every planet is affecting the other. Just thinking since it seems like the progression is to be balancing more and more stuff...

Anyway, great job!

PS: I had some scaling issues on Mac - couldn't get it to fit quite right on my screen.

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:52pm

I like the idea of the game and it looks really cool.

It seems a bit too hard, though. I couldn't manage to stabilize the temperature. In several cycles (I think 6 or 7) I boosted the oxygen to about 30%, but I couldn't get any animals.

I think, after a while the temperature should be more stable through the greenhouse effect.

Smirnov48 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:26am

Great game! Game is very difficult - plants take all water :( and they die.

uvwar says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Hello fellow Volcano game! I had a really hard time trying to get some life going, and then I couldn't exit the program or alt-tab out OR force quit (on Mac), so I had to reboot. Otherwise really awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]