Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Little Big Dash

by Evannex - Compo Entry

Little Big Dash is an Endless Platformer. How long far can you make it?

This is my first time joining Ludum Dare, I had a blast. I'm not an artist or a musician so the "art" is just colored squares, and the "music" isn't so great either (there's an volume option though if you don't want to hear it).

I tried to incorporate both themes, so there are just two controls, one jumps, the other toggles between growing and shrinking. You can play with a mouse or with the keyboard. Mouse seems more responsive, and you'll need it anyways to navigate the menus.

Anyways, I hope you guys enjoy my submission! Please let me know if there are any bugs.

ALSO: If you leave me some feedback below I'll make sure to play and rate your game also!



NOTE:
The WebPlayer build may or may not work in your browser, and tends to run a little slower.

The PC version runs the smoothest, so if possible I'd suggest using that version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#173Theme4.08
#369Innovation3.34
#528Audio2.54
#575Fun3.03
#632Overall3.06
#642Humor1.98
#740Mood2.55
#761Graphics2.53

Comments

kuhnerdm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:52am

Interesting idea, but I don't think it works very well with two-button controls. Also, the volume slider doesn't work with Chrome.

sharpfrog4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:54am

I like the concept, but the jump height is annoyingly low when you're small...

Good job :)

brandloose says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:19am

Couldn't get past the second jump.. Maybe I was doing it right, just seemed to hard and random. Liked the colors though!

Borodar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:40am

Great idea! But too difficult to play, as for me...

DomNomNom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:52am

Cool mechanics.
I find that it can be unintuitive to figure out how how the character will jump given how tall they are. If there was a UI thing (like a dotted parabola) that would how me the jump arc it would make it a lot more fun.

Also the speed of the level is quite fast, giving me almost no time to plan on whether I need to grow or stay the same height.

Overall a decent mechanics-focused entry.

Membrane says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01am

Clean art and design, great use of the themes. A little too difficult, though.

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:29am

seriously like the concept, but can be serious hassle sometimes to control your size to match the jump lol
still very fun!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:02am

I like the growing aspect. It's an interesting take.

SoulBound says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:46am

I found the game very difficult. It was interesting to try and control the size of the square while avoiding obstacles. The music was a bit repetitive but it does seem to fit the game. Interesting game, but a bit too difficult.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:15am

I like the idea of juggling growth and jumping but I think it would be more interesting if there were more obstacles for those that grow too much, instead of just having a ceiling.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:54am

Nice idea...but it takes forever to shrink and grow...

Very difficult to play because of that!

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:54am

I like the game, the physics feel good and the concept works well. The one complaint I have is the repetitive music :)

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Dang that was hard, got to 722 only

jim3wg says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Fun, but a bit to hard for me

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:07pm

while your graphics may be simple, I felt a nice sense of "unity" due to the color scheme. It seems to be mostly shades of purple, which helps ties everything together and makes it look more appealing.

I kind of wish you lost by going off screen, and not by hitting a platform, as I feel that might be more fair while still providing a great challenge. That may just be me though, I'm not saying it's the best idea.

Overall, even though it's pretty simple, it seems like you got a fun idea here, and clever use of both themes. I enjoyed playing it, nice job :)

Gins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:32pm

I like the idea behind this, and it's fun as long as I last. However it seems to be impossible to react fast enough with the whole growing/shrinking before crucial jumps or low ceilings.

Or maybe I'm just not very good at it ;)

rogual says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:49pm

I'm having a ton of fun with this
- Brutally hard
- Smooth physics, so it feels fair despite difficulty
- Has that one-more-go factor
- No art to speak of, shame
- Didn't hear any music? Firefox, Windows.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Neat concept, but the game moves too fast to actually learn how to use the mechanics properly.

Haighstrom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Hey, thought this game was a really great idea (reminds me of Mario where normally big Mario is best, but sometimes small Mario can get into secret areas).

It was a bit hard though, and it felt like being big was almost always what you wanted.

Not bad for a first entry, and completely on point for the themes.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:28pm

I got 1347 points. Nice platformer and congrats for trying to use both themes.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:47pm

People who claim my game is hard should play yours :D
Nice entry!

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Thank you to everyone who has played and commented so far! Your feedback will help me to make a better game next go round! The game was meant to be really challenging, akin to geometry dash or the impossible game.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Great use of both themes! Very hard to master at the beginning

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:34am

1074 Pretty hard game but really fun. If the game was made a bit more glowy or had particles could easily be put on one of the app stores

rijnswand says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:59am

Great idea! Too hard for me to last much, but it's a fun challenge.

I tried the game with wine and it works perfectly, would have liked to have a linux version tho.

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Brutally difficult but it seems like a good idea and the music wasn't bad! Congrats on your first LD

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:32pm

A simple game with simple controls, the grow thing is a bit confusing at first but you get used to it, maybe you could keep working on it after the LD <3

ripatti says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:21pm

That's pretty hard! My best score is 1036.

Wicked7000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Good Game (Although not my type of game at all)!

thedashdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:44am

Fun, a little hard and it took me a while to get that you changed the direction of growth with the mouse, not just while clicking you grew, otherwise you shrunk. Quite interesting though.

Starspell says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:13am

This is a cute little game. I like your idea of growing and shrinking but I don't think that the player has enough control over it. Growing takes a long time. Additionally I don't think that the game gives you enough lead time to decide how to proceed. Also whilst I'm glad you went with a pattern of obstacles I think your difficultly curve needs a bit of tweaking, or at least a dedicated starting pattern to get people into it.

All in all though I thought it was a sweet game and congrats on your first LD!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:35pm

nice, that was challenging, pretty clever game, nice job :)

Evannex says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:56am

Thanks so much for everyone's feedback! Every comment will help me make the next one better!

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:05am

Brilliant idea, very unique. I had a lot of trouble as there didn't seem to be enough time to grow after I'd seen what's coming up. This is a case where I'd totally want hand-crafted level design over generation, at least until I got the hang of things.

Evannex says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:34pm

@Warboys Actually the initial plan was to have a number of levels that got progressively harder, then to also have an endless mode. I ran out of time to do both though, and the endless mode was actually easier to implement. ^_^

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:47pm

I like it but I don't think shrinking was used as much as growing.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:12am

I loved the concept-- in fact we did something very similar with the platformer genre rather than the pseduo-random endless runner. Actually I think your works better because of the low iteration time and infinite progression. We also wanted size to affect jump height but failed to get that in on time and now I wish we did because it feels very good to jump higher as you get bigger in this game.

Also you managed to hit both themes which is cool.

Like alot of commenters I think the main snag with the gameplay is that it requires you to focus on both the very turbulently changing floor and the ceiling which changes less drastically and you tend to forget about the ceiling until its too late. I think if you shrank back to original size alot more quickly than you grew this problem would be resolved.

Overall: Nice work, my friend.

euske says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:49pm

I...cannot...stop...playing...

Simple but one of the best take on the theme. It felt like the mix of Super Hexagon and Thomas Was Alone (both are my favorite games). My only complaint was there's no way to restart the game with keyboard. Anyway, excellent job!

Taffaz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Cool concept and I like how you incorporated the two themes. The fact that the levels were procedural added a lot of luck to how well you can do.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:11am

first - congrats on ludum dare - you did it - the first few jumps were mosly impossible so you should try to ramp things up slower - good idea - nice job

Allthebees says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Cool idea, I really liked the design of the different obstacles, nice variety.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Nice entry! It was quite hard, but I like challenges ;) An alternative to this could be to switch between two different sizes because managing the shrinking size can be tough in real time ^^ Anyways, good job ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]