Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GreenGrow

by fiddenmar - Compo Entry

Growing theme.
You are a plant that wants some sun. You can spawn other plants and climb them to get what you desire.
Touch the sun (yellow square) (pointed by yellow line) in every level to beat it. Avoid the fire (red squire).
Levels 1-4 are easy to play, but I haven't beaten the 5th yet. Please comment if you did. If you are stuck - press ESC and Enter to restart.

The spawn mechanic could be a challenge itself, but to my mind it's interesting enough to understand how it works. When you spawn a plant, you respawn at previously spawned plant (pointed by green line).

Controls:
Menu:
Enter and left-right arrows to choose the level
Game:
Arrows (up-arrow is jump)
Space (to spawn a plant on your current position and respawn at previous)

Made with love and LÖVE.
Thank you for your time.

Source code also available here: https://github.com/fiddenmar/ld34

Binaries are only for Windows, other platforms require LOVE, https://love2d.org/

UPDATE: congratulations to acotis, the first one who have beaten the game (I haven't).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#525Innovation3.10
#651Audio2.11
#689Fun2.85
#814Overall2.80
#882Graphics1.95
#905Theme2.79
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:08am

I downloaded the OS version. The file is .love, but I changed it to .zip and I was able to open the folder, but couldn't run the code

fiddenmar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:39am

You need love to run the game. Check it here: https://love2d.org/

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:52am

A nice game here! It feels a bit buggy, but it's got a good vibe and it was fun!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:53am

Simple, but it does the trick. The platform mechanic is interesting, though the jumping was difficult to control, especially a few levels in. There was an odd shakiness to the picture for some reason, not sure if that's just me but I thought I'd mention it. Any, good work!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:30am

Pretty neat concept. It was an interesting puzzle trying to position myself to make the best platforms. I also liked the rotation physics. It added a nice challenge, since you had to consider the angle of your character when making platforms. Nice work!

Also, for my game, there should definitely be audio. If you can't hear any, just remember to score "N/A" for audio.

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Neat concept. Needs a lot of polish. There is no information about the buttons in-game. The "grow" mechanic was not explained at all and your character seemed to jump to previous "block" instead of the one you created.

fiddenmar says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:28pm

@DrTeaSpoon, if player dies, he will appear on top of the last placed block. If Space pressed, he will appear on top of the block placed right before the new one.

The grow mechanic was explained above, not in the game, my fault. You control an abstract plant that wants to touch an abstract sun and (here it is) grows avoiding abstract fire.

PotatoGrader says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:30am

The idea is great. I think the passages could be a little (or a lot) wider. The fun parts are to build you own way to the end of a level with your copied. The non-fun part is dying after every jump because the ceiling is low =)

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Planting feels kinda weird, being teleported around between cubes, but otherwise an interesting game. Congratulations!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Couldn't get past level 3, ended up getting stuck infinitely spawning into a wall.

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Difficulty curve is off the charts, level 3 is way too hard. There isn't enough introduction to mechanics in-game. The death sound and motion of the camera is very jarring, makes it extremely unfun to die. Spawn point mechanic is broken and is very easy to bug out the game with.

fiddenmar says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:42am

@HotBoxGames, @mattlevonian, I have uploaded a youtube video of how to beat the 3rd level, hope it would help. https://youtu.be/rT-UzFwGDN0

blubberquark says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:38pm

I'd like a level 4 walktrough much more! How am I suposed to beat this thing?

-bob

fiddenmar says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:41pm

@blubberquark, here it is.

fiddenmar says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:43pm

(In the Links section. And here: https://youtu.be/El-OfR4JddY)

acotis says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:40am

Cool concept, but the inconsistent jump heights render the game almost unplayable. I managed to beat 5 levels, but there was an error message when I hit enter after that. Also, I would have like an introduction to the "make checkpoint" mechanic, I didn't know about it until I peaked at the walkthrough for level 4.

Still, it was almost very fun :)

StaNov says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:28pm

The rules could be clearer, but I spent some nice time playing that :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]