Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Avoid and Un-Avoid

by Andrew - Compo Entry

An abstract bullet-hell game.

I've been informed the in-game instructions are too cryptic what with the abundance of "un-"s.

What you do is you move along the circle with the arrow keys. Hitting htem both teleports you to the other side of the circle.

Once in a while (visual and audio cues provided) your dot will turn purple and your energy bar will decrease. Here is where you're in "eat mode" rather than "avoid" mode. You WANT to get hit by things. They heal up your energy bar. Normally 3 hits and you're out, this lets you top-off back to full.

On all levels other than "Insane" the central generator will cycle through the available patterns one at a time, then will start adding more and more randomly.

That is all.

Good luck and please post scores in the comments :)

*******************************
Current build is web html5 unity.
Some issues may exist with Chrome refusing to play the game, if that happens Firefox works fine.

More builds pending porting,
*******************************

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#441Innovation3.21
#509Fun3.12
#578Theme3.61
#612Overall3.09
#622Audio2.23
#724Graphics2.61

Comments

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:25am

Simple and fun! Insane is really insane..lol ... Impossible to score high! But nice game overall!!

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:26am

Good concept!

Reisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:34am

-. I keep missing stuff when on Eat Mode, eating hitbox should be larger than avoid hitbox.
-. The yellow and orange emitters are somewhat annoying, why are they on my orbit?

Good game overall.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:34am

i like this, its a interesting concept.

Andrew says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35am

Reisen: they're annoying on purpose. That's why you have the teleport functionality to get around them ;)

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:37am

Good concept! I wish there was some sort of warning when depurpling, you get hit a lot when that happens. Insane is really fun.

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38am

Not bad, would have been better with a some kind of music.

Andrew says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43am

gallerdude: there is. A sound effect plays and there's a visual flourish around your dot a second before you un-purple

scriptorum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:46am

Insane lives up to its name! Like the concept. Had trouble un-un-re-avoiding the un-un-faux-avoidable. :)

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:01am

wow, that was a pretty simple idea, but nicely done! It was super easy to just pick up and play so to speak, but I can see it taking quite some time to master.

Very nicely done :)

dekart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27am

Well done, simple but very solid.

Few notes:
* it's hard to hit things when purple - nearly impossible to restore
* some background music would be good, even auto-generated music is better than nothing
* it would be awesome if red points would change their color to green when they're ok to hit and back to red when they're dangerous - it would be much more intuitive

sanojian says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:33am

Good use of the theme. Clever to combine the two buttons for a third control option. I like the static graphic effects.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Pretty good and unique concept. The sound effects coud have been better.

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:26pm

I had fun, definetly. An interesting mechanic indeed!
Could've used some music or ambience though, and the graphics were kinda meh. But other than that I liked it.

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:14am

This was a lot of fun. I really like the switching mechanic although sometimes it's a little tough to gain health as purple if the big beam doesn't spawn

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Really neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/rvwkTXA2Y10

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Nice concept!! Simple but a lot of fun. The visual and audio effects when changing colours really helped improving the playability. Could have used some simple music.
Well done!

Shurty says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:06am

Nice work ! Well done :)

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:49am

very interesting presentation, especially with the game over, interesting

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Basic but innovative, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]