Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Keyboard Prince

by LavaGhost - Compo Entry

This game was made for the 34th Ludum Dare Compo.

You are a character that slowly needs to grow by eating the correct mushrooms.
You only start with 2 Controls walk forward (W Key) and shoot (Left Mouse Button).
The more you grow the more controls you unlock.

By,
Bartek 'LavaGhost' Mogielski

I used LWJGL

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#258Graphics3.54
#389Humor2.56
#441Fun3.21
#444Mood3.00
#553Audio2.48
#618Overall3.08
#619Innovation2.92
#759Theme3.33
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

Dec 13, 2015 @ 6:27pm

I'm not sure if you are supposed to do this...
You may be but in Compo you are supposed to make everything from scratch.
This game looks alot like Notches game "Prelude of the Chambered", I might be wrong but since you "started the lapse later in devolopment" i think you've done something behind camera we were not supposed to see. As I said I might be wrong, right me if I am

Duobix says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 6:34pm

I had no idea how to exit the first room, but I like that you nailed FPS just to two buttons.

LavaGhost says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Oh ok I know what you mean. I forgot to put chronolapse on, a friend had to remind me to put it on. I also had the engine ready. ENGINE not the GAME I took inspiration from Prelude of the Chambered also a game called Delver and what could I have done behind camera?

LavaGhost says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Duobix thank you. there is a mushroom that lets you press the E key to open doors

Jordan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:34am

Saw your posts about this game earlier, glad you were able to finish it!

I like how you were able to make this type of game work with two buttons. It would be easier for people to run if you packaged the natives and assets folder into the jar so people can simply download and click the jar instead of having to unzip.

matthewd673 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:15am

Quite fun and the sounds/art were great but the game was strangely laggy - even on my mid-range gaming pc :/

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:44am

Cant actually play the game right now, am on a chromebook, but just the idea of the game sounds nice! Will try later!

CelloCoder says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:49am

Really cool! Interesting use of thebennybox's engine (I don't see anything wrong with it, it was something open-sourced before Ludum Dare). I tried to make something like this a looooong time ago with that same engine, actually :) but that was before I knew much about how anything worked. You make me want to play TES: Arena! Now I can't play anymore LD games, this has maxed it out. 11/10.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22am

I experienced quite a bit of lag on my weak PC, though I may try this game again later on my more powerful one, since this game supports Linux (at least, I'm assuming it does with the "Multi-Platform" label). The collision for the enemies felt a bit off, half the time the attack wouldn't hit them, and it felt quite random. Also, the blue texture in area 2 made it very hard to figure out where I was going, and as such, I found myself backtracking a lot. You probably want to make this texture more detailed to help solve this.

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:20am

I see that you took inspiration from Delver and it's awesome!
The cannon ball thing looks almost exactly like the one from Notch's Prelude of the Chambered.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:24am

Couldn't quite figure out the first room?

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:04am

Fun entry. Art has a great feel. Sound gets slightly annoying after a while, and the back wall of the starting room does not exist (I discovered this before I had to read through the comments to find that you had to press 'e' on the door). You might want to consider adding a message that specifies the abilities as you gain them. Well done with the two button fps, and nice job with lwjgl! Great entry!

ezolotko says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:07am

I like how one can read messages from console window.

Maixior says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Nice! Look good :D

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Having an engine already ready is not in the spirit of this Jam and is not fair to other jammers.

LavaGhost says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Unity is an engine... Many people use Unity... This is the Compo

CelloCoder says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:29pm

"If you’re using an internal library, to participate in the Compo, you will be required to share it." In the "Source Code Explained" section of http://ludumdare.com/compo/rules/ so yes if he makes the source code publicly available then an engine of this sort is definitely allowed.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:44pm

The art style was pretty nice (I'm a bit of a sucker for Wolfenstein clones, tho.) Unfortunately, I found the combat to be a bit lacking. I was never really sure if I was hitting anyone or not, and since I could only move forward there really wasn't much to do other than spam the attack button. It'd be nice if you could, say, hold down the button and then release to push the enemies back or something. Also, I ran into a glitch where the audio engine went nuts. No idea what's going on there. Nice effort though, I personally understand what a pain in a butt games in this style can be (especially with something as low-level as LWJGL).

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:12pm

I like the concept (even though I don't think it fits the theme well) but I encountered several bugs:
- I was able to walk through the back wall.
- Sound where sometime playing randomly and choppy
- The screen went just black at one point and I play on

Still a good entry, certainly has potential.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Nice and dynamic little game ^^ It's just bad that some visuals effects or sounds are missing, and that the controls aren't explained. Good job anyway ^^

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Interesting game, cool take on the theme! Quite enjoyable, loved the retro feel!
I ended up going outside of the level via the back wall of the starting room, and then it seemed like I fell off the world and caused the game to crash.
Good job nonetheless!

LavaGhost says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Thank You Everyone for the reviews! No Matter if they're negative or positive! I will investigate the bugs!

LavaGhost says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:48pm

I have fixed the bug with the wall!

Dimitri0xFF says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Which java version do I need? I have Java 7 64bit and it doesn't work.

LavaGhost says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:07pm

You need the newest one (8). I recommend getting it because many games use the newest one.

SeanBoietz says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:03pm

You fucking wot m8 I'll poo on ur mum

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]