Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Below the belt

by kill0u - Compo Entry

Theme: "Two button controls"

The enemy's EMP has messed up your systems pretty bad. You managed to put your ships on autopilot, and the only thing you can still do by yourself is dive in the asteroid belt or go back to the battlefield.

Controls:
Hold X to dive with your pink ship, and C for your green ship.

While hiding in the asteroid belt, the enemy cannot hurt you. However, the dirt is damaging your engines, so you can't stay there too long or your engines would explode.


Special shot:
Your ships can fire a special shot (the skull-shaped bullet) instead of basic bullets, under certain circumstances:
- They have to be really close to each other
- Both ships have to be in the battlefield
- They must be going forward


---
Sorry about the lack of sound, I know it would have been a lot better with some. I actually managed to get some time to do the sounds during the compo, but sunvox wouldn't recognise my sound card so I gave up after a few minutes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#177Innovation3.69
#204Theme4.05
#225Graphics3.62
#320Overall3.44
#344Fun3.33
#480Humor2.36
#565Mood2.85

Comments

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:17pm

This is a really neat idea. I love how it looks. Diving your ships beneath the asteroids is neat, and that combo-skull attack is awesome! I have no idea how to reproduce it though, it just happens sometimes. Add some sounds and music and this would be a pretty sweet little game. Good job.

esayitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47pm

This could really use some music and at least some sound effects. Also, the game felt a bit like a 1 button game for two players :P

Aside from those two points, the entry is very solid, cool concept and well-executed. I liked the art and the game was pretty fun.

Good luck in the compo!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:42pm

I like the idea, i really had hard controlling both ships so i usually just dove with both at the same time.
But it could really use some music and sounds.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:15pm

First two button game I liked. Nice use of the theme in the mechanics. Cool bosses, well done!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Like the idea of multi-tasking between two ships, although it would've been nice if you had a bit more control.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Pretty cool game, although there wasn't a lot of control... And it got really difficult near the end.

pokipsy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Very nice entry, you managed to make an innovative shmup which not so easy. I'm not a huge fan of shmups usually but I enjoyed playing this one !

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:19pm

sometimes less is more and this is one of that case, love the game really fun, love the SKULL!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Clever idea, and good use of the theme ! Well done. :)

blackmagic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:35am

Really nice, good mechanic, gc stalls around 8k and sound would just make it awesome :). Very cool entry !

Efuvex says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:39am

Neat graphics. Also really cool concept both mechanics wise and backstory ahaha :)

kill0u says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:42am

Thanks! :)
What do you mean, "gc stalls around 8k"? There's a (kinda messed up :P) slow-mo effect on power-ups, but the game runs smoothly on my laptop at least 'till 1M points (yeah, dev cheat codes :D)

PaulJs says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Nice idea !

francoisvn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Cool idea. Seems like you forgot to include the source code (a compo requirement) :)

RevelBase says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Really nice art and concept :)

Galan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Really cool idea. It would have been nice if there'd been time to build some challenges geared toward the control scheme. As it is everything feels random.

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:10pm

This is really good! I like this idea, it's very solid and challenging, and it feels so smooth.
Well done!

kmakai says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Really like this one. My score was 33.007, I had a lot of fun playing it! The art for the ships is perfect, and I really appreciated all of the variety in the ship/shot patterns! Great job.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:27am

Great idea, nice implementation :)

crucknuk says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Nice entry! Despite the lack of sound, it is really polished and funny to play! Good work ;)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Really great concept. Personally, I would have preferred one ship with maybe a duck and shoot button, as I found it hard to control two ships at the same time - nevertheless this was an impressive little entry that I had to keep playing for 10-15 minutes! :D Great work

XenosNS says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Great mechanic, liked how you used two ships. Sometimes felt like you didn't need to bother dodging for long periods of time.

markusfisch says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Nice concept! I like that you can play it alone or with a friend. That's a very rare quality.

freaknarf says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Nice game !
Good job with the original gameplay, the special shot introduces a cool but hard mechanic. The game becomes so hard at some point that sometimes it feels like diving is as punishing as being shooted :)
Neat pixel art, and great enemies design !
Good job ! Cheers !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]