Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

LEVEL UP!

by astrophics - Compo Entry

I used the theme: TWO BUTTON CONTROLS.

- Move with the right and left arrow keys!
- Try to get as high of a score as possible!
- Shoot different coloured ships to level different stats!
- Shoot at sheilds to get a sheild for 5 seconds!
- Shoot at health packs to regain health!
- Can you make it to HARDCORE mode? (bonus points)!

This is my entry for Ludum Dare 34, and this time, I decided to do the Compo rather than the Jam as I know what I'm doing now. I don't think my game is THAT great but I tried my best and had fun, which is all that matters. Next time I promise I'll have a mac port but.. ehh, game maker is finiky and I don't really have time to figure out how to port for mac. Anyways, thanks for checking my game out!

P.S. if you want to open the source code for my game, you must have a somewhat recent copy of GameMaker: Studio. (.gmx extention)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#203Fun3.56
#235Mood3.35
#238Overall3.56
#461Theme3.76
#672Innovation2.80

Comments

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:35pm

I liked it... reminded me of the old arcade game "Time Pilot". Good job.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:16am

Good concept! It would definitely benefit from the ability to move around, maybe by pressing both buttons at once?

jigalx says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:14am

Nice and simple! Wish I did something like that. Well done.

Move127 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:22am

Pretty good. It is fun and simple.

LeekAnarchism says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:34am

Nice game! Simple, but fun.

I didn't realise I was getting hit until too late -- it would be nice to have a small graphical effect when this happens, or a more distinct sound (I thought I was managing to shoot the enemy ships in time)

Madsj says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:38am

I think it's a great game, but it would be even better if the game scaled more to the abilities you are slowly accumulating. It seemed to stay roughly the same and when I hit max level and entered hardcore mode It seemed the game just wanted me dead and executed me. I think the primary challenge of the game comes from the ship turning slowly, so maybe have it turn faster as an upgrade and maybe the game would progress from in the beginning seeing something and turn in advance, to react fast to whatever comes.

alliel_a says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:07pm

nice gnice gameame

radmars says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Nice use of the theme! Pretty fun but could use some variation in the enemies. nice work.

Rogod says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:51pm

Hah, this was awesome.
Very little I can complain about (besides maybe the lack of crosshair making it hard to aim properly and the length of time the score takes to appear) but the rest was flawless.
Concrete concept, easy to get to grips with, fun to play, hard to play, variety of events and a well rounded style both visually and audibly.

paruthidotexe says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:05pm

nice concept and game play.
like the font and art style which makes game looks better

ViKing Games says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:23pm

Fun and simple! Loved the graphics, especially the background and screen-shakes. However, the power-ups seemed inconsistent with the rest of the graphics; they had too many colors compared to everything else. Great use of both themes (assuming the leveling up is 'growing'). I was going to complain about the game becoming too easy once you had enough levels, but then I reached hardcore mode. Well played.

srakowski says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:29am

Liked the parallax effect with the stars, the game progression, and the GAME OVER screen effects. Was a bit frustrating that I couldn't spin the guy fast enough, but otherwise good job!

Alphish says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:48am

Well, made it to the hardcore mode, but didn't last much longer. I wonder why... *whistling*

Entry solid, but not exceptional. Could use some background music, I think. ^^"
(nice touch with a llama, though)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]