Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Girl Story

by MAnimal - Compo Entry

Greatings from Czech Republic. This is my second Ludum Dare and I am very happy for finishing my game again. I have some problems with Unity building so nonplayable parts of the game can be a little fuzzy. Sorry for that, but playable parts are ok.


Controls are simple, use arrow keys to move left and right, use arrow key up to jump, and if you are thinking the game do nothing just pres space few times :).

I hope you will like my game and you will enjoy it.

PS: best experience in in window, u can resize it!!!

Thx for your comment Bye :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#476Humor2.37
#611Audio2.27
#773Mood2.45
#876Graphics2.04
#894Fun2.35
#926Innovation1.96
#928Theme2.52
#961Overall2.17
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:54am

Needs a bit more work. Good effort though. Controls perhaps need to be bit smoother.

ccglp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:26am

Kinda harsh going to the first level.
But is a nice concept! Sure they say that in Czech Republic all people are artists!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Quite fun, but needs some more work! Nice game tho

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Had to mash the spacebar at the start to get through the intro. Platforming has something, but like others have said needs a bit of work on the controls.

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:52pm

The jump from the moving platform to the little platform with the monster was hard. But I liked the mood and music.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:14am

Nice little game, although the control feel a little floaty or unresponsive. Music was nice :)

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Took a couple minutes to get through the intro, it seemed pressing space didn't do anything, or only sometimes worked, until about half way through, then suddenly it worked. Controls not too bad, definitely difficult.

Zulgot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Fun game - I like the music and sounds a lot :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:29pm

I like the style and the mood, maybe the controls needs more work, but nice try!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Well played with the story (although at first it seemed only to amuse us)
I wonder who the villain was?

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:06am

nice effort - the platforms were a little too tiny, and that first level had a steep learning curve - some of text was hard to read because of color combinations

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:38am

Couldn't beat level 3

The physics is kinda wrong I think. I mean, you can do whatever you want, but typically you don't start falling much faster when you let go of the jump button, but instead of keep the same speed. Do some searching on how to do game physics properly, it'd help a bit.

For both the bee and the other thing the graphics were too small or the hitbox was too big. So I would often die without it looking like I touched the bee at all. You should make the hitboxes smaller, they should actually be a little smaller than the graphics to be a little more lenient.

Good start though. Good luck for next Ludum Dare!

simon.parzer says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:03am

Funny game. Controls were a bit hard to get into.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:04pm

A very neat idea, the music was very soothing :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]