Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Self-Growth

by FireTwin - Jam Entry

Self-Growth is about balance and moderation in life.

Click on positive and negative traits to balance the inner mind.

As one gets older, the boundaries of morality become blurred.
Can you keep to the straight and narrow?

*TIPS*

- Negative traits will grow your mind to the right and positive traits to the left.
- Don't rely only on the colours, as they may try to fool you as you get older!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#415Innovation(Jam)3.28
#552Theme(Jam)3.63
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#741Graphics(Jam)3.00
#910Overall(Jam)2.84
#957Fun(Jam)2.53
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:06pm

You need to make the link public so people can play the game.

FireTwin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Sorted! Thanks for letting me know.

TeamOliphants says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40pm

it took me a while to really understand but I liked that about this game. The clicking mechanics were pretty frustrating as precision became more important because of overlapping collisions, but it all ties back into the theme of the game.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:08am

Took me a while to work out how to actually play this and it was a bit annoying trying to click certain words but great use of the theme :)

micky says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:20am

interesting little game :) thank you and good work :)

LudoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:38pm

very deep

beetracks says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:08am

I missed at least a music for giving some mood, but it was a very nice use of theme.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:30am

Interesting idea but the text was difficult to read. Especially when it is sideways.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:11am

Interesting use of theme although I also did find it hard to read the words at time.

DissonEnt says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:28am

Very refreshing and interesting to see the theme applied in a philosophical way. I agree with the other comments that the collision detection became a little frustrating when the words overlapped.

DissonEnt says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:29am

Very refreshing and interesting to see the theme applied in a philosophical way. I agree with the other comments that the collision detection became a little frustrating when the words overlapped. Maybe try a different way of sorting the words. Really like the art.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:01pm

interesting idea for awesome entry!

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Can't play windows games :-(

RHY3756547 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Nice game. It got a little hard to click the right answers when they started overlapping the wrong ones continuously.. But I like the idea, and although short it proved rather difficult and innovative.

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:21pm

Pro:
+ Interesting concept and take on the theme
+ Nice graphics
Con:
- A bit hard to read/click the words

Great job!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:09pm

An interesting entry, a lot different from the rest!

Mar 28, 2016 @ 3:08am

Neat entry! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/MR4ln4T3mFk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]