Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

DoNotFeed

by Kentoro - Jam Entry

It is simple and funny game in which you should not feed a little monster, otherwise it will grow and crash everything.
Use left and right buttons to move falling sweets in to the side slots and match two to make them disappear. Try to hold
as long as you can!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#195Graphics(Jam)4.04
#237Humor(Jam)3.23
#341Theme(Jam)3.86
#411Mood(Jam)3.33
#439Audio(Jam)3.16
#547Fun(Jam)3.12
#592Overall(Jam)3.24
#628Innovation(Jam)2.98

Comments

flukeshot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Very good model and animations.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Very cute and very hard! I managed to get a highscore of 43, which I think is good at least.

Saymon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Nice game!

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Oh dear, who keeps throwing macaroons in the bin?

Love the graphics & audio, found it hard to survive very far at all though.

fafastudio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Even if i find it a little childish, i think you made a great work on the concept !

It's pretty hard, and it's making you want to do the best score as much as possible :)

MintArcade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Very original idea and innovative execution ot a theme. Everithing perfect.

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Animating the falling candy to the left/right might make the game more clear, but it's a cute game anyway!

sathorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Awesome animation! I think there are too many colors, it's a bit to difficult.

Indie L says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12pm

I liked a lot :D

sprawl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Simple game with great visuals.
It could use more animations for the falling sweets !

ujebegu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:01am

I beat a highscore of 76)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Very hard but also very cute little Gizmo.

Cheers,
Zazine (Tyrants-not-found-team)

Kepab says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Very nice: you even had time to throw in the menu! Sometimes the mechanic seems unfairly punishing, but when I really concentrate it does seem more balanced as long as I can keep track of the next incoming item.

Webravenz says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:05am

Very nice ;)

Ludum34 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Зубастики! Клево, привет из Минска!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Nice model and nice gameplay, I like having the pill clear the stacks.

Wir says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:19pm

That fluffy beast brings back childhood memories XD
Thank you very much for that cute little game

Starspell says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:04pm

An interesting game. Gets way too hard and at some point you have no moves left and you just lose. Would have been nice to be able to switch the sweets on the left and right hand sides around.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Cute little gizmo. Would be cool to see it turn in to a gremlin.

camlang says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Nice one! The sessions are very quick though. Maybe you could clean up the lots somehow except with the help of a pill.

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Really liked the graphics. :)
Was able to get a high score of 13 (not very good at these kinds of games :P).

mockthebear says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:38pm

nice animations. no, srsly nice!!!
also funny XD
max score: 16 :C

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]