Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bouncing Bounces

by khofez - Jam Entry

You have to defeat the enemies in an infinite vertical platformer where youre a ball and you bounce everywhere. It's very simple, I just tried to make it fun, enjoy.

Controls:
A/ Left /Left Bumper for move the character
D/ Right / Right Bumper to attack

Most of the art and all the code by: @khofez
The hearts in the UI was made by my friend :D

Unity 5
Paint.NET
GraphicsGale

#LDJAM #LD34

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#402Fun(Jam)3.29
#454Theme(Jam)3.74
#536Humor(Jam)2.62
#572Overall(Jam)3.26

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:27pm

WOW! I really liked it! The graphics could be better, but everything else was great.

muffty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Nice graphics.
But I didn't get that far up :(

Indiestry says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Really well done, it's amazing how controllable and agile the character is eventhough it is controlled by only two buttons.
Overall mechanic worked perfectly and fit the restrictions well!

Saymon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Nice game and fun to play !

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Mac version on my computer wouldn't open, unfortunately. Screenshots look nice though!

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:37pm

I managed to glitch through the right-hand wall and all the enemies kept shooting the wall

it was rather entertaining

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:42pm

The graphics are nice. The sound for the jump wasn't particularly pleasing for me. I had to turn it way down. Also I found myself glitching through walls every now and then. Good game overall! I like the mechanics. Very challenging to hit enemies, but made more sense as time went on.

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:01pm

This is fun and well done! I leked the mechanic a lot!

yhsper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:24pm

A fun game! I was kinda confused, at first, as to the use of the two buttons. Got better with time but couldn't master it. Nice to see the procedural level generation (if that's the case!). I liked the art, and I'd love to see a more polished version of this game. Congrats!

I like the art,

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Looks really nice, good sound effects, awesome pixel art. But the game is just really difficult! (Or maybe I suck)
Still enjoyed it though :3

uthamon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Nice controls. Path after attack is a little bit downwards and I like this decision, keeping it straight would make it too easy, and as it is makes the game fun. I don't know why someone complains about graphics, the game looks cool, especially these giants.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:52am

Simple yet really fun. I love dashing around the the d button

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:52am

Nice! I liked the art and animation style. It was satisfying to slam into walls. It was a little hard to get past the initial difficulty hurdle though. Great work!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Art wise this game is near the top for me. I enjoyed playing the game but it was really hard for me, maybe I suck at this game but couldn't get very far, it seemed I lost a life every time I killed one of the enemies and a certain attack was hard to dodge.. Pretty good game over all.

Kakureta says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Solid game, I liked it overall. A bit challenging though but still fun :)

Troma says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:44pm

I liked the art

Big Cow says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Used the constraint of two buttons superbly. Very satisfying gameplay jumping and explosions! Brilliant.

NoGrapes says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:08am

I had fun with this one. Good job I like the intense attack the ball does.

csanyk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:13am

It didn't seem like I was getting hit or losing or anything, but then the game would suddenly end, even though I still had 3 hearts. I don't get it.

Yword says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:15am

Really fun and challenging! Well done!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:56am

Goofy game :). I like how this feels -- zipping back and forth is fun, and I like the weird enemies. It'd be cool if there were more reactions to bouncing into things. Like super bouncy walls and no bounce walls, stuff like that. Maybe for a future version? Good job on this.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Really fun game, but kind of confused. It took me time to understand how it works. Nice job! With audio could be better.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]