Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Harlequin

by Nizan - Compo Entry

Take charge of The Harlequin, the most advanced* ship in Abstract Space, and blast those Things out the ... 'air' because of... Reasons. Good luck!

*your mileage** may vary.
**mileage as a concept may not exist in Abstract Space.

I've had some issues with the Unity WebGL Player. If it doesn't work for you, then you can find standalone builds for all platforms at itch.io (also the graphics are nicer that way).

--Controls & Rules--

- The Harlequin will move up & down automatically.
- Left or Right click to change direction of auto-fire.
- Click again in the same direction to inverse The Harlequin's colours.
- Enemies are only killed by bullets of their colour.
- The spearheads on each end of The Harlequin will damage enemies of the same colour.
- Don't get hit by enemies!
- Get a high score!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#155Audio3.44
#386Theme3.85
#406Graphics3.23
#407Innovation3.26
#524Mood2.90
#586Fun3.00
#591Overall3.11

Comments

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Good game! Though it quickly becomes too hard, as too many enemies come, might want to make a better difficulty curve.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Great minimalist game. I can imagine that some people would spend many hours playing this to get a highscore. Great stuff!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:51pm

A bit hard to get used to the strategy at first but it came out pretty good!

Dalkor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Both challenging and fun, easy to pickup. I feel the projectile audio could be more subtle though and that something could be done with the black background.

sputnik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Nice simple but hard game! Well done.

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Pretty interesting set of nicely coupled mechanics. Great job on designing a solid little game!

uncade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Fun little game! I really like the way you made the health bar.

Piode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Fun game but tricky! Really cool art!

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:16pm

A really cool game ! It is a simplistic but innovative way to use arrows ! It is too hard, i think

n00basaurus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25pm

The difficulty scales up a bit too quickly. I wonder if splitting up the controls, having one button control shooting direction and the other color, instead of both buttons doing both things, would help ease the difficulty curve.

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:30am

Cool minimal style. Controls are a bit tricky at first. There are too many enemies, and it quickly becomes impossible to avoid them. (or maybe i'm just too slow and can't handle the stress :D) I think adding some predefined patterns for the Things appearing instead of just spawning them randomly would add much to the gamplay. :3
Good job, cheers!

Raius says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Awesome! Love the simplistic art style it suits the simple mechanic perfectly, and I feel like the difficulty could ramp up a bit slower or maybe I'm just awful at it, but definitely a solid game :)

echa says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Uhh. This game is hard! Nevertheless it's a great use of theme.

the31 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Cool game! Not hard to understand, but I can imagine some interesting strategies coming out of it. I agree with others that the difficulty ramps up a little too quickly, and I think it would be more compelling if the enemies formed patterns rather than appearing apparently at random. The patterns would emphasize the strategy aspect rather than being a purely reaction-based game, I think. Neat stuff here.

One thing I wish it had was alternate controls--even just the left and right arrow keys. My mouse right now isn't the greatest, and it would be good to have some symmetric-feeling controls I think.

Bocodillo says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Difficulty curve is a little steep but otherwise a great game. Love the music!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]