Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Blobitronica

by crucknuk - Jam Entry

Hello !

For this Ludum Dare, we chose the growing theme.
The player grows exponentially as he eats, in an ever-growing hostile environment.
Eat the tasty looking balls, while avoiding contact with traps, missiles ... and LASER BEAMS !

There are two different modes:
- Classic (which is good for starting)
- GoFast (which is more nervous and challenging)

LOCAL MULTIPLAYER:
The game can be played with a friend in local mode. Cooperate with him, or push him into traps, your choice !

CONTROLS:
Player one - arrows key
Player two - WASD (or QWSD for our friendly azerty keyboard users).

TIPS:
Don't be afraid of traps much smaller than you ;)

FIXES:
-Joystick controller enabled
-Balanced ennemies so they start spawning later in the game rather than right at the start.
-Fixed a little camera issue when playing in "Go fast" mode.

Post-jam modification:
-Less slippery on the player
-More to come ;)

Know issues:
-In 2 players mode, if a player dies, the second player can still move despite the gameover screen appearing. However, the score stops increasing
-In classic, if you don't move for a while and the screen is full of food and you take them all very quickly, you grow so fast that it freezes

Have fun, and submit your high score in the comments ! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#106Fun(Jam)3.75
#171Audio(Jam)3.64
#181Overall(Jam)3.71
#250Theme(Jam)3.98
#346Innovation(Jam)3.37
#397Mood(Jam)3.35
#505Graphics(Jam)3.48

Comments

psychopsam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:21am

I really like the zooming of the background. The fact that most impacts made you smaller was great. I just didn't like the death ray killing you instantly. Good game - well done!

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:22am

You got nearly a perfect score from me. Lots of fun, and VERY polished. Good job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:23am

Nod bad game. It is solid and have good graphic. I played something similar on iPad but it definitely has some fresh ideas.

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:25am

The graphics are really great, nice work while being minimalist. Dodging everything is a lot of fun but the instant deaths make things pretty difficult. Perhaps save the rays of death after the player is further into the level.

mf1214 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:26am

Simple but fun game. Fits the theme well.

sathorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:59am

Really fun game. There was just so much stuff going on and i didn't really understand what the different thing were doing.

VideoDog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:36am

Reminds me of the cellular stage of Spore. Pretty good!

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:19am

Everything about this game looks, sounds, and plays beautiful.

MisterMortal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Fun little game, it gets quite hard when there are small spikes left over. Like the concept a lot!

TeamCalin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Great job, the 2 players mode is very fun !

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Woooow!! Sooo good!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Really fun and good rythm. The fact that spikes are immortal the center of the screen a dead zone that you always want to avoid. I dont know how you could fix this, if you make the small spikes vanish too fast you will loose the zoom feeling.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Thanks everyone for the positive feedback !

@Benjamin : Actually, the smallest the enemies, the less damage they do compared to your own size, so you can clear the screen of little objects without too much trouble. The laser also clears everything in its path :)

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Fun arcade game, really like the music and there's a cool sense of scale. :)

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Whoaw, didn't expect that! Cool game with great visual effects and engaging gameplay. Good job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Cool take on the theme! Reminds me of Agar.IO
I also like the music!

alexrus07 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16pm

A really fun and polished game. I liked the zoom effect and the controls were tight. Good work :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Nice Audio, cool game

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Great job, this game is fun and hard! It really becomes problematic, that this little spikes stay as dangerous as when they were as big as the player. But I think this brings a nice gameplay! ^^

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:10pm

The look and feel of this game are amazing. I got absorbed in the frantic gameplay immediately. Looks very polished.

Louspirit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Really fun game, you dont see the time passed. 2 player feature is a plus. But once I got the game over menu without being dead. And please think of those who dont have qerty keyboards!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Awesome little game. At first I was confused, there were little balls appearing out of nowhere, but then I started to move around and suddenly MINDSPLOSION! EVERYWHERE! :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Fun! Loved the zooming scope as you grew - made it very satisfying to grab a bunch of blobs in a row. A little bit strange that you sort have to hit the obstacles eventually - I didn't initially realize that hitting them when you're much bigger is basically fine (in fact, when they're small and numerous it often seemed to be best just to bulldoze them when it's relatively safe). Otherwise, a great example of a simple game with fantastic feedback from from sounds and visual. Music was good too.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:52pm

The controls don't work that well of this type of game, it needs something like a mouse or joystick for diagonal movement. But the art is nice!

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Really nice game, it feels very polished and is pleasant to play. Also it seems to have a lot of content which is impressive for a game jam game.
Great job! :D

propter_ludus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:42pm

I was really into it!
the effects were well done and the music was amazing!
I like that there were different modes.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:47pm

nice, awesome game :D love it! great arcade action, love how the level grows with you, very clever, well done :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:44am

That was fun! I preferred the second mode more as it gave you even more sense of urgency.

KZdev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:43am

I love this game, the ever-expanding scale is very cool and Go Fast mode really gives you a sense of urgency. Rates highly on all metrics as far as I'm concerned.

srakowski says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:14am

My #1 favorite game title so far. Blobitronica is just fun to say :). Good use of the theme. Great job.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:42am

Great game. Had a bit of an agario feel - with traps. Very polished for a jam game. The trap placement could perhaps use another balance pass

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:20am

Great take on the theme, great visual effects and overall, a fun gameplay experience. I think the game needs to give some more feedback to the player as to what is happening / when he is being damaged / etc., but besides that I had a lot of fun playing this one, as you could see on the stream.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:58am

@crucknuk Oh I didnt notice it on my first tries ! This is clever ! Totally worth an extra innovation star :)

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:27am

it so colored and luminous! Fun

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:34am

With simple graphics you've made a good game. Good job!

Beavl says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:22am

Game-design wise this one has lots of cool calls. Really enjoy it. Congrats!

zzapp says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Great game. Really loved how it kept zooming out and the use of the theme.
Well done!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:22pm

The graphics are awesome, growing out, but not getting more space, was an interesting mechanic.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:45pm

I like the camera zooming away as you grow, though having to hit the obstacles once they're too small for you is kind of weird, maybe make obstacles move around and have them go away once they're too small.

Good job!

zguerrero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Nice game, very addictive, and the musi is great!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Funny game :)
smells like teen spirit:)) good idea!

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:53am

This was a lot of fun! Definitely very thrilling. I loved the aesthetic, and the "Go fast" mode; I think an even faster mode would be lots of fun! The death ray feels a little unfair, but overall the rest of the game is awesome.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:04am

I think the idea was the two player but the game would be better played with a mouse

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:17am

The zoom idea was awesome and I had great time playing it.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:40pm

The infinite zoom effect a la Pix the cat is a really nice touch, gives a lot to the game feel. Well done!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Neat idea! Pretty effects!
The ball was a bit too slippy on the controls for my taste, but it was fun nonetheless. Good job!

pontooncity says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Well done! Only issue I have is it seems like the food frequently spawns where you have to hit a trap to get it.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:44pm

The scaling is amazing, really nice game!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:07am

The music was awesome. The GoFast mode really feels like the way to go. It is more arcade like and faster paced. Also playing two player modes with one person is also an interesting challenge I think everyone should try!

GFM says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:01am

OK, I'll settle with a highscore of 60.

Fun game! I'm quite amazed by how simple and effective graphics and audio are. The game also is amazingly polished, with tons of tweens, little animations and SFXs...

Great job!

herniewise says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:31am

Good job, loved the graphics and the camera :)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:04am

Love the fractal nature of the game...it gives a cool sense of scale to the experience. The controls were a bit too floaty for me, especially as the game got harder. It there was less acceleration in the movement, I think it would increase the skill ceiling nicely and make the gameplay feel more intentional.

bradur says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Simple controls and challenging gameplay! It was fun with a friend. Graphics, sound and music were very nice. Good job!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Well polished game! The controls are weird in the way they respond, and at the same time very intuitive. You don't see that everyday. Great music too! You can walk away from LD34 with pride

BuffaloPhil says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Very cool!

ramoncb says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Impressive! I think it's very polished even for the Jam.

The conecpt is very cool and is quite addicting. Plus, there are diferrent modes!

Good job!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:13am

This game is really tense, but fun. It kept me going, and that's really cool. I also like the graphics. But it also had me on the edge of my seat.

23 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:24am

This is great! The music's amazing, it looks gorgeous and the difficulty has a nice ramp-up.

Kind of confused about how bubbles can spawn inside spikes though - it seemed like it was usually but not always a good idea to take them even if it hurt.

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:24pm

I knew there'd be a lot of Osmos/agar.io style games in the Growing theme. This is the best one I've played so far, its a great twist on the concept. The constant zooming out and escalation of hazards appearing makes it frantic and keeps you on your toes. Excellent presentation too.

Ludum34 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Very fuuuun!

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:52am

Fun, fast-paced game, I like it. It gives a good sense of growing massive!

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Addictive game,
Nice art and sound, fits the theme well!

Congratulations!

gkxd says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:21pm

I wasn't a big fan of the menu graphics, and I didn't know what to press to select an option in the start menu.

The game itself was really fun, although the controls felt a bit too slippery for me.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Original game!. Good Job.

Gornova says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Perfect for theme, impressive graphic and background, well done!

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Whoa! Awesome job! Best jam i've seen yet!

Krafty says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:30am

This was a lot of fun! Really cool game idea and very well executed. I think maybe you should be able to absorb the very small spike balls at a certain point, though, because the middle gets kind of cluttered otherwise. Super cool, great job! =D

Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Love the arcade vibe of the game. I can see myself playing something like this when I was a kid in the 80s. Well done

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Cool how the level is like a fractal, constantly zooming out, nice and original. No octopi this time :'(

scorched says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Nice Osmos clone! Enjoyed the fast mode!

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:19am

OMG this game is fun and original, i like the music and graphics. Good job bro. :D

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Nice looking game, plays smoothly, and the music really tied it all together. Not terribly innovative but awfully fun. I wasn't able to test 2 players so I hope I'm being fair in just rating it on the single player mode; two players seems like it would be a blast.

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Nice game! Liked the Go Fast mode in particular - definitely a great variation on the classic Spore/Feeding Frenzy style gameplay. Graphics and music were also great!

munchor says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Love the zooming mechanic, great great work for 3 days!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Great entry! The music helps keeping a fast pace, graphics are minimal but clear (I really liked the zoom-out effect) and gameplay is simple but effective, polished and addicting! :D

piper82 says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:43am

had a great fun with a friend. excellent theme and decent polish. did you know you can continue playing after game over screen? good job.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Pretty awesome game :D twas very hard yet still satisfying and I loved the style along with the zoom effect :)

Shurty says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Nice job, really like the way everything is getting smaller and smaller. Congrats

lawendt says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Really amazing, quite frantic, great audio and graphics too. Keep up with the awesome work!

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:47am

This is really impressive for a jam game! Multiplayer, two modes, a cool music, nice graphics! GG! It was fun to play!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:14pm

This is fun and nice and polished. The zooming out effect worked really well and added to the feeling of growing. Thought it was a great use of the theme.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:18pm

Pretty fun concept, great use of the theme plus brilliant soundtrack. Also GoFast mode is insanely addictive (My best was around 56).

Pantoufle says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:30pm

I like the idea and the realization is polished and well made. I get how the game can be enjoyed, but I personally found it a bit aggressive. It might be the music, or SFX, or overall pace of the game. I don't know.
Anyway, that's great work here, Congrats!
I rated you quite well, even if it's not the type of games I enjoy :-)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:23pm

You got the zooming out done very well... I actually wanted to make something with zooming out too, but it turned out to not fit my expectations. Anyways, Overall a cool and finished game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]