Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sir Carrot

by Adolf Jong Un - Compo Entry

Story:
You are a carrot going under the name of sir carrot, your life goal is to grow big enough to get harvested and eaten to a delicious meal.

How to play:

-Collect sun by click on them or get some help from the plants

-Use abilitys to fight off the bad guys or just tap them

-then each resource is filled with 70% or above, click the upgrade button to grow! ( do this 9 times and defeat the boss to win the game. without dying of course then you'll have to start from scratch again )

Also this is my first ludum dare game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#282Theme3.96
#342Innovation3.38
#362Fun3.31
#386Audio2.84
#413Humor2.50
#552Overall3.15
#571Mood2.83
#624Graphics2.85
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

Dinomode says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Nice! Spent 15 minutes playing it before I accidentally clicked on a bookmark from the web browser and lost everything. Great game!

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:11pm

It's a nice game but unfortunately I can't see everything. My screen cuts of a little bit from both top and bottom.

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Excellent game. Would have liked a bit of an explanation of what the abilities do, but figured it out in the end. Really enjoyed playing this one, well done!

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Great game! Pretty simple, but hard! I just didn't understand at the beginning what were the things that come to us... lol.
But very good work!

avocadojoe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:42pm

cool

kepons says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56pm

That was a fun struggle. I did find the game kind of repetitive, however, and it could have used some more content. All in all, a nice entry!

SayRafon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:03pm

That's a goood game, I like the animations (for the seeds) but you don't really know if you're progressing in the game ^^'

Blagino says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Awesome game, i also made games in stencyl back in the days!

Jod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Good pixel art on that carrot!

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Finally! I won! I had to click 2733 times and killed 1065 enemies! Damn my arms hurt so bad, but I had to keep going xD

Music starts to get repetitive sometimes, also it would be nice to show how many times you have to upgrade for the boss (like a counter). And those abilities needed some more explaining ;)

Overall nice litte game, had to play it to the end ^^

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:45pm

My fingers got sore before I got to the end... is there even an end? Other than that, I enjoyed the game, thanks!

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:18pm

I think it's a little bit to slow. But it's a nice game.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:46pm

So first of all cool idea with the multitasking the gathering suns, killing insects and abilities / resources to manage.

My problems: The green arrow on the lower left, what does it do? - How do i progress, why couldn't i use the third ability.. i guess i didn't manage to upgrade, but i am not sure why, I thought I tried the green arrow on the lower left. But I might not have had enough resources.
Will play again :)

mar3k says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Really addicting game. Lots of fun.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Managed to get to the end. What a bittersweet ending... I can't believed I spent so much time on that game! The user interface could definitely use some work, though, it was difficult to tell what does what.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]