Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Karel

by Dry Tree - Jam Entry

Karel is a two button puzzle game in which you guide a robot through a series of challenges. The robot can only carry two items at a time, and that includes one or more of the very limited movement control cards. The games sees you plotting a path through each level to achieve your ends while leaving half of your controls across the room.

This was going to be a Compo entry, but I had other stuff to do on Sunday so it became a Jam entry instead. Aside from the 48 hour limit I stuck to the rules of the Compo.

My background is is programming so I decided this time around to focus on my 'programmer art', and I think I've learned a bit about modelling and texturing. Any tips or feedback in this area would be great.

Enjoy :)

P.S. If I had my time again I wouldn't make a puzzle game. Next time I'll focus on something I find fun regardless of whether it fits the theme, because this time I kind of did it the other way around!



Tools Used:
Unity, Blender, paint.net, NormalMap-Online, Bfxr, Audacity, AutoTracker

Tested on Firefox 42, Windows 8.1, and Android 5.1.1

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#97Innovation(Jam)3.82
#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#557Fun(Jam)3.11
#584Overall(Jam)3.25
#628Audio(Jam)2.67
#678Graphics(Jam)3.14
#755Mood(Jam)2.91
#787Humor(Jam)2.07

Comments

Gipzo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:22am

Nice idea, but controls are very difficult and not very intuitive - i lost commands several times and had to go around again to get them back. I guess "back" button would be nice, but then it wouldn't be "Two-button controls" :(

Overall - good idea, art is not beautiful, but fits very nice :)

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:49am

Interesting mechanics with the dropable skills. Not very intuitive though, maybe better visual feedback or even easier tutorial levels would help

Japes says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:41am

That was really great, best game I've seen yet. Really polished, clever mechanic. My only real criticism is that it's too short! Some more levels would be nice.
I suppose you could easily add more, and then you'd have a finished game.
One other thing is that I would often mistime when trying to go through an open door, resulting in my colliding with it and turning instead.

piper82 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:49pm

cool idea. checkpoint would be nice.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Welp... I try to launch the game and it just crashes instantly. I see a flicker of the window opening and closing rapidly, but the game simply doesn't play.
(Linux: Ubuntu 14.04 LTS )

Chewie says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Good idea about programmable robot and limited command slots for it, like it.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:51pm

This is a cool game, although I'm afraid I can't even figure out the second level! :D

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Cool puzzle idea! The mechanic was really satisfying once I got the hang of it. The one annoying bit is trying to get through a door that's just been opened, and bumping into it, wasting some time.

Other than that, good, well-polished puzzle game!

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:55pm

I'm not sure what's up with the Linux build and 14.04, but I'll keep it up in case it works for other people. However I've just tested the WebGL version under Linux Mint (based off Ubuntu 14.04) and it works fine.

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Really great take on the theme. Feel like the swapping UI could be clearer but it works once you get used to it. I could see lots of interesting puzzles or even a level editor for this. Great job!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Puzzles were pretty difficult but I really like the control card mechanics plus great use of the theme.

Echo Team says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Pretty cool idea! I blew up the robot.

KriBoNiTa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:54pm

i agree with other users. Very nice idea, but the game comes too hard too soon ^^

hyperscope says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:26am

Very cool concept; nice very graphics; good sound effects and non-repetitive audio;
However, getting through the door was extremely difficult.

Neil says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:32am

Good use of the theme, and nice hard puzzles. The drop mechanic is a bit annoying and it is easy to mess up, but that is restricted by the two button controls. Great entry!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:41am

A difficult puzzler. For compo-level visuals this is pretty good, but I don't have the patience for most puzzlers unless they are very forgiving… which is why my entry is a snowball rolling down a hill :)

Anyway, looks like a good effort but I admit I stopped halfway the first real level.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:56pm

The game was cool, but the swapping/dropping part felt a little off, I couldn't ever tell what the S key was going to do until I pressed it.

davekalina says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:48pm

It's an interesting and different puzzle game but level 2 is a total bear -- too easy to end up in a permanent fail state. I felt pretty committed to solve it though, which is a good thing!

Wakefield says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:42am

Cool idea but the controls are weird and hard to understand at first. Kind of frustrating, maybe a better level planification to give the player an appropiate difficult curve

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]