Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Lawn Mower Fight

by WizzardMaker - Jam Entry

You are an autonomous Lawn Mower, with the goal to mowe the grass faster then the other Lawn Mower.

You die if you collide with an object, or if too many Lawn Mower kamikaze into you

New Version!

Now with sounds, and Power Ups!

Controls:
Left/Right A/D - Move Left/Right
Escape - Menu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#304Humor(Jam)3.04
#367Fun(Jam)3.34
#390Innovation(Jam)3.31
#446Graphics(Jam)3.59
#600Theme(Jam)3.59
#641Overall(Jam)3.19
#725Mood(Jam)2.96

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Fun little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/vvV25Dw2BHg

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Thanks for playing!

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12am

BETS GAME EVER

Cyranh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Haha this is so much fun to play! Completed all three maps!

sleepYxy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Nice game and such a simple idea!
At first I thought I had to eliminate the little lawn mowers to hinder their progress, but at the third collision I suddenly died.. dammit, no Deathmatch! Information about your remaining life aside from the progress bar would be a good idea.

Some of the power-ups are in really hard places, especially in between the stones.

Aside from all that it's a cool game and it would really benefit from some mowing sounds :)

bodsey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:56pm

It works well, nice job. I wish there was more options to fight back the enemies, it felt a bit passive at some point

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Cute game. Nice graphics and decent fluid controls.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Good job, enjoyed playing it.

ddr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Seems like the Mac version is broken, I get the error mentioned on this thread when trying it: http://apple.stackexchange.com/questions/181026/lsopenurlswithrole-failed-with-error-10810-cant-open-install-os-x-yosemite

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:53pm

@ddr2 hmm... I don't know what this error causes, I don't have a mac so if you can tell me the whole console log, I can try to fix it

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Excellent graphics , interesting gameplay . +5!

sararyCow says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:15pm

rar compressed executables doesn't work on mac. If you reupload it as a zip file it should work.

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Thanks sararyCow, I try it

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:52pm

You need to fix the sound, way too loud! First time I bumped into something it gave me a heart attack! Apart from this, the idea is fun, but maybe a little repetitive.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Quite enjoyable! A relaxing, cute little game!
Could have done with some more visual effects/powerups/UI but good nonetheless!

banana4life says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Mac version doesn't work :( Application couldn't be opened.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]