Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

IVY

by TRAB - Compo Entry

IVY by TRAB

Use the Left and Right arrow keys to grow.

Solve puzzles by connecting every stone!

Don't grow too far, though, or you'll wither away.



My first Ludum Dare Compo submission, made for LD34 in 48 hours.

The themes were Two Buttons and Growing. I decided to try both!

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#6Innovation4.36
#7Theme4.55
#20Overall4.14
#29Audio4.00
#66Fun3.86
#161Mood3.50
#178Graphics3.77
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Great job for a first time out. Loved the idea and it was easy to play. Controls where a bit hard at times, but didn't take away from it. Great music too.

fractalbear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Really enjoyed this dude, graphics are great, puzzles are tough but fair, nice music and sound really impressive all round :D

Miltage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Fantastic work man. Great puzzles and a well-executed concept. I loved it.

MrAmlice says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:42am

Very cool! I got to level 7 or something before I started getting frustrated :P Not a fault of the game but I'm just so impatient. Very well executed and clever use of circular growth to introduce additional complexity/challenge to the game. I also commend you for the addition of the sweet camera shake (definitely helps game feel). Great Job!

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:47am

Great idea, beautiful graphics and audio!

parias001 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:14am

Very nice concept! I was playing it for about an hour!!!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:20am

I loved this one. Simple yet innovative, fun yet challenging, great aesthetic and music-- it all comes together. You really hit all the points. The difficulty ramps up a little quick but other than that superb job.

monika says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:27am

Beautiful! I like puzzle games, but I absolutely love it when one surprises me with a clever, simple mechanic.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:16am

Great concept! Loved the audio choices, as well.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:22am

Really nice idea! Some of these levels were kind of tricky.

oab says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:25am

very addict game. nice work :)

richardboegli says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:11am

Great game. Audio was well done and matched the style of the game.

Reminded me of snake, but with two heads.

A and D would have helped me a lot.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:58am

Great concept and execution. Looks great, sounds great, and is quite challenging.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:23pm

A superb little game, 5/5 for me. Great mechanic and nicely thought out puzzles with a unique flavour to the way it plays. Controls are neat and tidy, the looks suit it and the music that accompanies things fits perfectly.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:38am

pretty simple idea, and I assumed was going to be rather easy / boring, but playing around with the screen-warp gave this game a huge bonus.

puzzles were challenging and very fun to solve, graphics were nice, audio fit in well, overall I really liked this game! Great idea and concept, and extremely well executed.

Excellent job :)

AsixJin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:48am

This is a great entry! I love almost every bit of this game. I had to pull myself back so I didn't get sucked into. I think this would work great on a mobile platform.

ciaodavinci says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:50pm

Great job - the simple visuals and sound feel great. One small issue: I was actually trying to use the "L" and "R" character keys at first... Maybe showing <- and -> in the instructions would make that clearer.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]