Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hilbert's Hotel

by iapc - Jam Entry

The famous Hilbert's Hotel has a second building. It now grows with demand, instead of always having an infinite size.

This game is a 2D sidescroller with a twist, it's a platformer with a puzzling game metagame. We took inspiration from the boardgame Labyrinth and created a platformer in which you can move rows and columns of rooms on the map.

So where most puzzle/platformer games are platformers with puzzle elements within the rooms, here the puzzle spans multiple rooms, and the orientation of the rooms is the puzzle.

Hints:
1. use the minimap, it's vital. You are the square, the X is the goal and the arrows are known switches
2. Switches are shown on the map, but only after you used them once, not before.
3. Doors are only shown on the map if a door exists on the other side. So, if there is no doorway between two rooms next to one another, it could mean one of them has a door in the corresponding direction, but it wouldn't be shown.
4. Doors are closed if there is no door in the room next to it. So you can always go back.
5. Don't be too afraid of dieing, the punishment isn't that high; it only resets the current room

The windows version is a zip file with an EXE in it, the linux / mac / windows (love) file needs to be run with love2d version 0.9.2, which can be installed from http://love2d.org.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#488Humor(Jam)2.68
#562Innovation(Jam)3.08
#884Graphics(Jam)2.60
#918Mood(Jam)2.50
#1012Fun(Jam)2.36
#1034Theme(Jam)2.56
#1080Overall(Jam)2.46

Comments

Boonearth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21pm

The windows led me to error then linux/max/windows(love file) couldnt play it source nothing on the page sorry i wouldve liked to played it :/

iapc says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Windows download link should work now. Sorry for the inconvenience

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:22pm

It was hard figuring out how this game works but after a while I think I did (well, I hit someone in the face with a suitcase).
I'd say the puzzle succeeds in being challenging.

Spending even an hour on sound could do this game wonders (while the cat pictures etc. are great, I'd argue sound is more important)

architect404 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:03pm

pretty confusing and lack of sound is a shame, but an interesting concept. good effort!

AM_Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Clever puzzle mechanic, took me too long to figure it out though :P

Paul Sinnett says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:15pm

I love the concept here!

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Nice concept, but it is fairly buggy which made it hard to play. Good game though ;)

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Really liked the setting, would have been improved with better collision detection and some sound.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:38pm

I think I missed the point. I ended up doing a bunch of wall jumping.

markoburzan27 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:14am

its shit

PieChronicles says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:18pm

moving rooms around was interesting but we couldn't get downstairs.

g12345 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:51am

TL;DR The game in its current state is unfinishable due to some bugs.

------------

Where should I begin...

It's an interesting game. I understand you want to combine something like Continuity with an Action Platformer and some Growing. It's a good idea, and I've seen some good examples of this before (not all 3 combined though.) It's a very ambitious idea to do this in 72 hours.

The graphics are okay. I understand your artist was having health problems but you can still need to mark the places where you can die yourself.

The design has some weird ideas. The biggest issue there is that you don't show the whole tile with all the exits (even if incomplete) at all times in your minimap. This means that instead of solving a puzzle, all you can do now is guesswork.

The biggest problem with this game is the coding.

Enemies are moving strangely. Sometimes the enemies can block a path, sometimes they float in midair, sometimes they drop down stairs too.

If you stop walking upwards on the stairs you automatically walks down again (which means you basically can't attack people coming from upstairs.)

And I've tried to play this game 5 times now, and the only reason I can't seem to finish this game is that it has some game-stopping bugs. Sometimes when I revisit some of the older rooms, some of the arrows will disappear from the minimap and the x went back to its original place. And sometimes the switches swap every room in the column but not itself. Sometimes those "wheel monsters" can stuck in midair and block your exits and you can do nothing about it.

To recap: Great idea, poor execution. I'm disappointed to see so many bugs in here as I've talked to some of your during that last text adventure game. If you need help or explanations or just a friendly chat, just drop me a line on the LD IRC chat.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]