Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Inferno Botanica

by QuestionableQuality - Jam Entry

As the forest burns grow your spirit vine to heavens as the flame chases you into the sky. Use your spirit branches to grab the remaining spirit spores needed to keep growing.

Instructions:
- Growing the main trunk costs spirit.
- Branching stops the main trunk growing.
- If the green flame reaches the top of the main trunk it's game over.
- Branch off to grab spirit spores to increase the amount of remaining spirit.

Controls:
- Left or Right arrow to create a branch.
- left or right arrow key to bend branch respectively.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#107Theme(Jam)4.18
#181Mood(Jam)3.67
#219Audio(Jam)3.55
#292Overall(Jam)3.55
#350Graphics(Jam)3.73
#573Fun(Jam)3.09
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

brainybeard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Really fun game, was fun to see the progression from prototype to full game. Gameplay is solid an clear how the game mechanics work. Has a nice look and feel too. Really like the inclusion of the leaderboard, although Ry is over powered. Nice work guys! Good luck.

tharealjohn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:03am

Nice work! Impressive that there is a leaderboard.

Trash Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:06am

I definitely like what you were going for, however, I struggled for a couple minutes to figure out what exactly was going on, and then longer to figure out that the fire was green. The audio on the fire also carries over into the menu. Not bad, and an interesting concept!

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:23am

Everything from the music to the art, to the font you chose really supports the mood! The implementation of a high score mechanic made me play this entry more than most of the other entries I've tried so far! I was really gunning for the top score. I ended up getting seventh or something. Very impressive work.

Solid mechanics. My only gripe is that at some points when you run out of spirit, you might not be near any orbs to collect. Maybe it would help to add a mechanic where spirit appears after you've run out, but only one of the orbs is within the area where you can feasibly reach it. This way you have to quickly judge which one you can collect, and if you're wrong, you die.

Anyway, good game!

PlymouthJam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Awesome work here guys! The graphics and sound compliment each other really well and you absolutely nailed the theme.

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Fun gameplay, nice graphics, but you should add a "destroy branch" button, because if you press one time to often you are doomed

refreshgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Nice work, I played this through a few times, it was pretty good fun, although I occasionally felt like my death was inevitable due to the power-up placement being so far away, which was a little frustrating, although I can understand that this would be a difficult balance to attain inside a short time window, particularly, when the supporting music, sfx and graphics are rather good!

I'm glad I saw a leaderboard on there also, always adds that extra bit of replayability on there ;) I think I'm currently 10th with ~70-80m

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Nice gameplay but I suck at this game xd I like the mysterious mood, I enjoyed it for a while.

blohod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:21am

Very nice, Impressive that you made a leaderboard, love the graphics to, very hard though. judged on stream at http://www.twitch.tv/meep706, watch the highlight to see me play

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:31am

A little difficult, and I had a few problems with accidentally starting another branch after finishing one, but still a fun game overall! Good ambiance and graphics and it was great trying to beat the scores!

Gunzil says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:38am

This game is very difficult, and the random placement of spirit spores didn't help. One miss when branching to a spore and you're done, since there's no way to cancel back out of the spirit branch and keep growing the main one.

I found it confusing that the fire you're running away from is green. I thought it was good or part of the plant at first, and didn't understand why I kept dying initially.

I like how the leaderboards are integrated into the game, that's really cool

Jan 6, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Really interesting game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/eeRk2tDl2JU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]