Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Mail Girl

by keyboardsan - Compo Entry

Push UP and DOWN arrow keys to help the mail girl deliver mails!
And, oh...avoid those cars if you want to spare her sorry ass.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#98Humor3.48
#426Mood3.04
#452Fun3.19
#522Audio2.56
#523Theme3.68
#711Graphics2.63
#820Innovation2.50
#830Overall2.78

Comments

TripleW says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 9:05pm

The only reaction I had to this: LOL! :D

pjimmy says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Very funny game, nice job

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:45am

One of my favourite games for sure ^^

keyboardsan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Hey, thank you everyone. ^_^

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Really good ! keep it up !

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Theme of controlling works. Her legs make me crazy)) Thanks for fun!

Muel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:19pm

What kind of mail company makes a poor human being deliver mail on a no-sidewalk street with heavy traffic? xD

Fun game, good work ^^
It's like Frogger, with a twist.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Holy cow, this woman can take on those cars :D
Humour and audio will be getting points in this one!

Blobo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Pretty funny. i like how even when you are on the sidewalk, the cars will still run you over.

cudabear says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:48pm

A simple entry. The difficulty in the game scales well, the rate it speeds up is nice. The gameplay is a good but the collision on the cars is pretty brutal, there were times I figured I'd miss a car but I got hit. Some invincibility time after being hit once would be nice, too! Had some graphics issues, particularly with the character sprite running animation. Sound effects left something to be desired. Well done!

jachepe says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:17am

Solid game but is a bit repetitive and need more work for the randomness of the houses and cars.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:30am

My best score is 22. I never realize how mail delivery is such a dangerous job. The game is cvool but I think you should work your game randomness. Sometime you run for seconds without seeing any delivery box and sometime there's 8-9 on the screen at the same time. ( It goes the sames for houses / trees ). I played it 15-20 times to reach this score. Nice entry !

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:55am

Lol, this game is fun to play

miwuc says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Not a terribly innovative game but all the elements are there: 2 button gameplay, health bar, increasing difficulty, and even some sound effects. I also liked the humor. My main complaint would be that it's hard to tell whether or not your are in a car's hit zone.

bessdlan says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:28am

a little repetitive but it's a funny game ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]