Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Fading Light

by Null DIES - Jam Entry

Filii lucis, the children of light. Two twins. Darkness and Light. Dusk and Dawn are their names. Together their power ruled over the earths and heavens. Then there was a day, when the hounds of darkness rebelled against their king, Dusk. Left wounded, his sister Dawn sought to revive him by giving him all the light power in her.

After his sister's sacrifice, Dusk is driven by nothing more than to keep his sisters light glowing in him. Although his darkness eats up whatever light is left off her. He seeks the sacred stones so that he could revive her once again and restore the balance to this universe.

Sister Dawn, you may be a fading light, but you will not be extinguished

Controls:

A/D and Right/Left - Move
Space - Interact
F - Take light
R - Give light
C - Create a Lighting force

Note: We discovered a bug in elevators that affect people with low-end devices (where frame skipping occurs) that made the game almost unplayable, so we patched it and re-uploaded.

__Credits__

Game Design:

Lead Game Design: ElHassan Makled
Game/Level Design: Ismaeel ElSinaty
Nadine Ayman

Programming:

Lead Programming: Hassan Selim
Programming: Amr Nafie
Nadine Mansour
Mohamed Melouk
Mohamed Nagy

Art:
Art Director: Amr Kandil
Game Art: Farah Mourad
Miada Nour
Shady Magdy

Voice Over: Ahmed el Kady

Special thanks: AbdoulRahman Ihab
Mahmoud Nour

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#212Mood(Jam)3.62
#234Audio(Jam)3.52
#435Graphics(Jam)3.61
#490Innovation(Jam)3.18
#685Fun(Jam)2.95
#717Humor(Jam)2.26
#738Theme(Jam)3.41
#764Overall(Jam)3.04
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:27pm

interesting concept! it was kinda confusing at first but i understood it eventually. the controls were hard to get used to though

guoboism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:29pm

The 3D artwork is amazing. I like the story.
But I lost when I met the sprout. I can make it grow taller, yet what is the goal?

Null DIES says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:16pm

@guoboism: Thanks for the nice feedback :)
The sprout ... you're supposed to stand on it so it would carry you, sorry if that wasn't clear :(

ChromeWisp says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Was not very intuitive at first, but once I understood that taking light meant ungrowing a plant and giving light meant growing a plant, the gameplay became clear. Very nicely done, looks like it took a ton of work!

Null DIES says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Yeah we didn't have time to make a tutorial of any kind, we wanted to put key icons that tell you to press "R" and "F" on sprouts/trees and maybe just one dialog during the first level.
I'm glad that people do get the idea after some time though :)

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:24am

Aw, I was hoping for a lot more in this game with the size of the team. After I read the description I had high expectations, but it turned out pretty disappointed. I'm assuming you had more ideas but ran out of time

Here's my thoughts, reading through it seems kinda harsh but hopefully it's constructive:

The graphics were kinda boring. Everything seemed kinda dull, especially the trees.
The main character looked off to me. The way he moved and then floated when he was still was weird. Also sometimes his robe would sometimes come through the bottom of the platform. The lighting felt off, he looked weirdly shiny, at first I thought he had tentacles.
The graphics for the buildings, and the background looked nice. I think maybe if you used some interesting lighting, or something to get different colours into it, it would look good. Perhaps the contrast between light and dark could be emphasised visually? There just needed to be something other than dark and greyness.

Gameplay wise it wasn't very fun. I was waiting for the main mechanic to be introduced, and then it ended! I also think limiting the game to going round a single building removed a lot of potential exploration. There's really not much you can do but go around and then go up.

The controls were pretty weird, I've never played a game that used R, F and C before and it confused me trying to remember which was which, and so I died a lot at the start. Also C was never useful? But perhaps if you left the controls on screen it would be easier.

The music was really good though!

I think next time I'd focus on thinking of some simple gameplay, and implementing that first. Games that do well are ones with one core mechanic that's fun in itself, as opposed to games where you cram lots of features in to try to make it more fun.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:26am

I did manage to get through the game by the way! I think maybe the reason why I was disappointed was the intro was done so well, and the screenshots looked really promising! Hope you guys can improve for next time!

Null DIES says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:25pm

@Jezzamon: First of all thanks a lot for your feedback :)
I'd like to point out that half of the team were actually "interns", people who are completely new to our team, so don't think about the number :D
For the graphics we decided to go with the "Gothic" art-style and wanted to make it look gloomy (dark blue lighting), but you are right about the trees they need to be much better, and we could try to add more light to the darkness somehow, for example, yesterday I made the characters' eye glow and light up the place a bit.

Gameplay-wise, we actually designed 6 levels, but when we finally integrated the final 3D models (trees, elevators) all the positioning as off and we had to readjust everything and time was running out, so we chose levels 1, 3, and 6. A part that you didn't get to see of the core mechanic is the C button, there was supposed to be places where you have to spawn a force of light on top of a pressure plate to keep it triggered as you go through a sliding door that closes when the pressure plate deactivates. There were also levels were the player was forced to go up and down a bunch of times to finally unlock things (not just up and up like you say), this one also didn't make it :(

Null DIES says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:28pm

And about the controls, yes they are weird indeed, it was a very late decision and didn't get tested, and we didn't even make it configurable from the Unity Launcher, so we apologize for that.

luysse_l says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:03pm

very fun game! nice work

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Very nice fleshed out, almost poetic premise! The gameplay was a bit confusing at first but once I figured out that i had to stand on the sprouts it became quite enjoyable! Good job guys!
I liked the music too, very dramatic.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Very interesting but it lacks a good puzzle using the growing mechanics. I didn't know what the levers were doing when I activated them too.

Null DIES says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:58am

The levers do all sorts of things, in some cases they open sliding doors, and in the final level is *should* unlock the final elevator, but we mistakenly made the elevator activated by default :D

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Nice artwork/graphics. Cool music.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:30pm

good graphic! well done! :)

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:14pm

This game is screaming for a tutorial. Not a bad game though, presentation is nice, and I like the story and voice acting. Gameplay mechanics could probably use some expanding a bit, and definitely needs more in-game explanation. Good work overall though!

Jan 12, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/lBXur6KZCzs

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]