Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Kitty McBlubberton

by MartianGames - Jam Entry

Kitty McBlubberton is a bouncing ball of joy, eager to consume delicious treats. Keep an eye on your Growing Pains, (watch out for those Chocolate Cakes)! .. to ensure your best chance at reaching the end of the table.

>Left-Click to Feed
>Escape to Quit

>Please use Firefox to play our Unity (Web Player) version
>WebGL & mobile versions to be released soon

-----------------------------

Created for the 72-hour Ludum Dare #34 game jam challenge, using combination of the tied themes "Growing" & "Two button controls".

We opted out of audio because we ran out of time.
The Jelly physics are thanks to MisterSquare: http://u3d.as/6Pr

Jenni modeled the diner, treats & Kitty McBlubberton character, while Shadow (MartianGames) is responsible for conceptual design & programming.

We occasionally live-stream our game development on Twitch & are always stoked to connect with others obsessed with the interactive arts. ;)

http://twitch.tv/MartianGames | http://twitch.tv/JenniNexus

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

pcmaster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:26pm

So damn cute! :D Made my kitteh 49 kg. Good job guys :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:18am

I enjoyed this game, but I was a little confused about the goal. Also where are these cakes coming from?

MartianGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:32am

The cakes are coming from God himself.
The goal is anything you want it to be. Me personally, I just try to get Fat, and then head to the end of the table where it says "GOAL" ;)
(HEALTH WARNING: Not intended for more than 1 minutes playtime)

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:54pm

I got to be 9kg and reached the end. You already told me that this was more of an experiment so I won't bother commenting on the game side. I think you could use a little more zoomed out camera and a longer parkour to demonstrate more of this experiment. Keep up the good work :)

shadow64 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:38am

Glad you two were able to finish! It took me a while to get the hang of it but eventually I made it to the goal with only being 7kg! Haha. Took a while though because those cakes kept flying in! Hope you had fun, thanks for sharing, and congrats!

YinYin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:45am

217 kg!

You should've definitely spend a few minutes on searching for some fitting sound effects and music.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Cheerful and fun game. You need to configure and manage the camera properly, and everything is very great. For a cat, plus separate :-3

scriptorum says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:33pm

272kg. I think I overfed my cat.

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Cute little game.
Very cute protagonist ;)
Some sound effects and music would really help to create a good mood for the game.
But once you reach 250 kg the kitty can eat the cakes without any problem and just get fatter and fatter :)

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Very cute! Kitty got big, but still hungry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]