Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Save the World

by Berserker_Chris - Compo Entry

Funny little game with a statement. Protect the world and help the Trees to grow up. But be cautious lumberjack are all over there.

Have fun to play the game and vote for it.

edit: Download must be work again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#304Humor2.76
#534Theme3.67
#564Audio2.46
#672Graphics2.74
#745Mood2.54
#806Fun2.62
#866Overall2.70
#867Innovation2.35

Comments

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Not bad. Small and funny.
A bit more overall quality would be nice.

(BTW, I replied to your comment on my game.)

keks_ina says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Nice funny game.

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Artstyle was mediocre, the game was funny but overall the quality wasn't the best

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Nice game, but the graphics....

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Nice and kinda funny. But I constantly mixed up the buttons. Could've done better with a health-bar or something...

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:17am

I was a bit confused as to what I supposed to do. I didn't get that I had to jump on the lumberjack to get rid of him and keep planting trees. Gameplay was a bit repetitive and simple, but I am on board with the idea of trying to convey a message with game mechanics and theme.

I think the graphics could have used a bit more work as well as the gameplay, but I do think that the game has some funny qualities and it's a nice, albeit simple, take on the theme.

kebabskal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:16pm

I don't get it. No trees grew for me. Then it seemed like I randomly died for no reason.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Ok you die something wrong, watch the gif and you know everything you need

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Not bad! It's a simple game but it's not terrible.

It was confusing at first simply because I didn't realize there were saplings. I think you could make them a bit more noticeable or maybe not have them blend into the foreground and ground so much.

I like the music - nice and soothing. Visually, it could use a lot of polishing but for a 48hr compo I'm impressed you got audio, graphics, and game-play in there all by yourself.

Good job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Thanks I worked on the LudumDare Weekend so i had only 15 hours to make the game.

Drury says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:33pm

I like how the lumberjacks give you that "I'm smacking your bitch, wanna do anything about it?" look.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Not a bad little game, good effort.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:02pm

The game is ok, but you should work on your GUI, maybe a reference were is the lumberjack, and animations, adding a jump animation and improving the jumps physics should help to make a better game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]