Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Billy the Winter Pinocchio Elephant

by BulletsArePeopleToo - Jam Entry

Oh, Billy!

Controls:
Mouse to aim
Left click to grapple
Right click to contract (only in post-jam version)

Music by Kevin MacLeod

Post-jam updates fix physics bug and improve controls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#132Humor(Jam)3.57
#159Innovation(Jam)3.67
#349Fun(Jam)3.37
#411Mood(Jam)3.33
#457Graphics(Jam)3.57
#463Theme(Jam)3.73
#466Overall(Jam)3.37

Comments

Rufson says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:33am

Very funny and good idea!Nice handraw

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35am

Nice graphics hehe! Fun elephant but sometimes its really dificult to move..

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:36am

Quite a good entry, although very difficulty in parts for me. (That's not a negative... just a reflection on my platforming abilities.) The controls could maybe use a little tightening, but it's still a good start.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39am

the controls got to me a bit. i got to the squirl in the tree, couldnt get up the tree again, and just quit.

iantttianttt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:52am

Very cute XD! But when the nose is too long really harder move?

torcado194 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:40pm

haha that was a very creative idea! and well executed! though somewhat difficult to control at points

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Nice little game, but the inside of the tree was a little tedious to climb.

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Loved this game. Very cute graphics and theme and fun mechanics to play around with. Only thing that confused me was not knowing how to move at all at the start.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:58pm

(review of post-jam update) I love that you did the graphics by hand, though I'm not too fond of the style. Great humour (I love how all the lies I saw were really nice and innocent), and the physics work is good. However, the controls were just too frustratingly hard for me.

denycetm says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Solid entry. The movement needs a little bit of course correction / fine tuning but when I was able to fling my elephant to the top of the tree it was very satisfying. Loved the hand drawn sprites.

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Amusing idea. :D I like the art very much, humor is superb and mechanics are super-funny (if a bit clunky at times). It's possible to get stuck in the air and level design could be sometimes more forgiving as it's easy to get stuck between platforms. Amazing entry. :D

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Funny game and Nice idea

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:46pm

I like it

trozen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:09pm

I liked the art style and the physics made the game enjoyable. The dialog scrolled pretty quickly though and I missed a few of the lines.

sergicollado says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Great mechanics, and realy nice idea so fun!

Gyfis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Nice little game you got here - although it took me a while to get used to playing it on trackpad! Would be better with mouse :)

Shovix says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:16pm

handmade gfx rulez

Dohxis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Please upload WebGL version of your game. Not everybody can use Unity plugin :c

PixelMonkey says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Loved the graphics, and flinging Billy around the map was quite fun once I figured it out (I spent a good chunk of the game dragging myself along the floor, haha).

Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Everyone, thank you for the feedback. :)

@Dohxis, WebGL version is up now.

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:27pm

[Review of Original Submission]
Awesome game! I loved the graphics, and the primary mechanic was extremely clever :D.
Moving was very hard, and it took me a while to get past some of the obstacles, however, it was very fun!
When I fell to the bottom of the pond with all the bubbles, the game started lagging a lot, and I wasn't able to go farther.
I really liked this game, I now want to play the Post-Jam version!


I downloaded the Windows version, but I got the error: "Data folder not found -- There should be 'Billy_Data'
folder next to the executable".

Anyway, I managed to beat the Post-Jam Web version. Very good humor :D

Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:07pm

@dcRfj15, Thanks! The Windows executable should be fixed now.

WakeOfLuna says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:27pm

That was amazing. Swinging Billy around is the best of fun. The texts were fun too. Only played the improved version though.

TiByte says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Charming art style, with weird controls. I feel reminded of Octodad.

DalsGames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Sadly very hard to play on a touchpad. I like the art style thu :)

Echo Team says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Oh man, just when I got over my Just Cause 3 withdrawal!

Gipzo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Nice one. Interesting mechanics :)
The art is good too

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Original idea, I just got cramped fingers within about a few minutes so had to give up. Cute handdrawn images and fitting music by Mr. MacLeod.

Null DIES says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Fun concept + interesting mechanics = Awesome!!!

mockthebear says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Foxtacy: It's a nice idea, the mechanics are quite funny, the soundtrack is really appealing given the whole art set. I enjoyed it :)

flakoflak says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Funny and original

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]