Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Air Crusader

by Jakylgamer - Compo Entry

A simple Shmup
Controls
-Mouse to move
-Left click to shoot
-Right click to throw bombs

You have a choice to either pick up bombs to throw or shoot them to explode and cause a combo effect.

explosions grow over time
Bullets Grow over time
#LD34
#shooter
#shmup
Theme: Growing and 2 Button Controls

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#234Fun3.50
#317Audio3.00
#585Overall3.12
#692Theme3.44
#909Innovation2.12

Comments

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49am

Fun game! Does it continue infinitely or is there eventually a boss?

Jakylgamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53am

its just endless no bosses, had no time to add more stuff. glad you liked it :)

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:38am

Blast from the past. Makes me think of those retro shmups I played. Background loop need bit more variation as it becomes a bit annoying if kept on :). Good go at it though, and as per other comment, could perhaps have used boss or something. Good job.

Johan Blade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:11am

It might not be innovative, but it is great at what it does! feels great to control, and death doesn't feel too bad, great game!

Akhera says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:30am

SHMUPS are always fun. The music is quite repetitive, though and starts getting annoying really fast.

Jakylgamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:06pm

thanks for the feedback :)

refreshgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:51pm

You've got the starting point for a good shmup here, I was hoping bombs would be more to target ground enemies when I played it the first time. Personally I found the background music great at the start but a tad grating over time, still, good effort, hoping you will continue development of it after the event.

broknecho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:44am

haha that explosion sound scared me. Also, I kept shooting the bombs before I realized I could collect them.

Great start here! Lots of fun.

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25am

Cool stuff Jakyl! I hope my feedback on the stream was useful and it made sense.

I liked it a lot. The bomb combos were fun to play with and I think the game would benefit from some more of that.

Jakylgamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:07am

Thanks :D
@alvarop , yes any feedback is useful.
ill probably add some tweaks in here and there and have an update download button.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:37am

nice little game - felt a little like xevious

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Simple and fun for a while. Controls well too. That audio is hurting my brain though.

scorched says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Graphics look nice, didn't play because mediafire is blocked in Russia now...

scorched says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Eventually it unblocked, and I played. Not bad, I have to make a SHMUP next time :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]