Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dendrite

by bitdecaygames - Jam Entry

Friends become foe as you race through the dark and treacherous caverns in search of the magnificent Grow Diamond, rumored to change the life of anyone who finds it. Treasures can be found that may enhance your abilities, or hinder other would be spelunkers.
Gather coins to purchase abilities between rounds.

All art in this game is done in the NES color pallet

This game best played with 4 people using Xbox controllers.
Suggested drivers below.


Controls:

Keyboard > When selecting players, on Keyboard use Q, W, E, R to select players 1, 2, 3, or 4 respectively. A, S, D, F to de-select.

WASD = Movement
Q = Punch
E = Projectile
Space = Jump

Xbox > When selecting players, use A to select and B to de-select.

Joystick Controls
A = Jump
X = Punch
Y = Projectile

Xbox control driver -> https://www.microsoft.com/hardware/en-us/d/xbox-360-wireless-controller-for-windows

*************************************
Known Bugs:
*************************************
- Game does not end (infinite rounds)
- A.I. players can get stuck in certain map elements
- "Turtle" speed nerf sometimes gives super speed.



*************************************
*******Resolution Issues?*******
*************************************
The game is meant to be run at 1600x900, however, that might restrict the people who have lower resolution monitors from being able to enjoy the game. If you need to run the game at a lower resolution, you can run the jar from the command line with either the "medium" or the "small" argument which will render the game at 1200x675 and 800x450 (respectively). Here is the command that you type in to your command prompt:

java -jar <jar-name> medium

Be aware, that some of the menu screens will be slightly distorted or zoomed in, but the game should play the same.

*************************************
******* Too Dark to See? ********
*************************************
Press the 1 key to turn off the shader.

Or press 2 to turn off shadows.

Or press 3 to draw normals, just for fun :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#186Graphics(Jam)4.06
#214Fun(Jam)3.55
#223Overall(Jam)3.64
#443Mood(Jam)3.30
#482Humor(Jam)2.70
#589Innovation(Jam)3.03
#1051Theme(Jam)2.47

Comments

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Some people unfortunately do not have 1080p screens yet, keep that in mind. The art was very beautiful!

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:02pm

What a fun game! The graphics and animations are really nice, and it's always nice to see another game bringing back split-screen gaming! Unfortunately the direction of the race was a bit confusing, but in a strange way that added to the chaotic fun! Keep up the good work - I look forward to seeing more of your projects!

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Yea... the 1080p rendering sucked on my computer. Made the game very laggy. Also, rendering in views of other players when playing singleplayer (i.e. by yourself) added a lot of unnecessary lag for an older computer like mine.

Other than that it was pretty cool.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:06pm

So original. Animations and setting are awesome guys. Very good job

ajopart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Nice job. Amazing you guys made in 72 hours ! Art is great, gameplay quite chaotic :-)

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:31pm

awesom

Taldius says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:37pm

This game looks really good and feels great to play.
My only concern is that I didn't understand the link to the themes.
Anyway,good job!

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:02pm

This game is fun, I like the splitscreen multiplayer! There's a sound that plays right when the race ends that's kind of ear-piercing. The graphics were really nice too!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Seemed like a really cool game, very nice graphics and a fully fleshed out idea.
But I couldn't seem to control any of the characters :(

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:19am

Hot box games: you may not have set any of the screens to human players. If you want to use keyboard, hit Q on the screen where you choose your contols.

Japes says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:33pm

I give this 5 stars it's really impressive you made such a polished game within the time limit. well done!

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Gosh, you all managed to complete a surprisingly fantastic game within the Jam! Doesn't seem like you considered the themes though? Great job nonetheless!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]