Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Climbing The Blood Rock

by PlasmaErnst - Compo Entry

Climb the Rock of Blood.

Your max jump-charge-limit is increased with every kill,
allowing you to jump even higher. Can you reach the top?

Controls
------------------------------
LMB hold - when on ground = charge jump
LMB - when falling = swoop
RMB - change direction


---Update---
uploaded a fixed Version. A line of code made the application crash.
it's still buggy tho.

---Original---
(http://plasmaernst.itch.io/ludumdare34-blood-rock)
sorry the "game" is still very buggy :(
I´m working on it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#108Graphics4.00
#224Humor2.95
#284Mood3.27
#344Fun3.33
#388Overall3.35
#418Theme3.81
#483Innovation3.15

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:38am

Graphics were really nice. It took me a little bit to get used to the controls but it's pretty fun too.

Maxom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50pm

I love to kill

goffmog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Nice, very cool graphics and fun gameplay that doesn't take long to get the hang of. Really important to read the instructions though - first time I played I didn't realise holding the LMB makes you jump higher, some way of indicating this ingame would be great.

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Innovative controls system. So of the games ive played this one has the best use of the 2 button limitation. Took a while to get used to but once I cracked it, mario jumping those red goons was hella-fun!

OwT says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:14pm

The controls were tricking me first, but after I finally got used to them - it was quite fun.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:29pm

+ Idea was well executed.
+ Fun gameplay.

- While hitting you also move.

triello says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Very charming graphics!

Thanks for feedback on Parallax! We'll improve game mechanics and IA soon!

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:33pm

I liked the use of the theme in this one. :) Controls where pretty good once you figured them out.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Very cool game, gets pretty hard as you climb up and the view gets reduced. A bug allows you to just stay in place while preparing to jump, making you invincible while the ennemies go up. Animations were amazing. Music would have been nice :)

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:36am

Awesome graphics! Please add sound to this.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:26am

Your google drive wont let me download the Windows version because it's not public or something and it's asking for permissions. RIP :(

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:26am

Nice graphics! A lot of fun once I figured out I could change direction mid-air.

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:09am

Thanks for your time and feedback people, much appreciated!
SSJMetroid - That's too bad. I hope it works now.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Fun to watch when holding attack and to kill x3-x4 enemies.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:07pm

It has a good art and take and is interesting.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Nice looking game, well executed.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]