Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

itch

by fasterthanlime - Jam Entry

itch is a simple launcher for itch.io games

I made it so it would be easier to play other people's Ludum Dare entries — it's not a game, you can't vote for it,
but I did finish a lot of its features during the jam, to get it ready for rating season, so I hope you find it useful anyway!

You can read up on my journey here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/fasterthanlime/

========= Instructions ============

* The easiest way to test games is to first ADD THEM TO A COLLECTION from the itch.io website.
* All your collections should show up in the client (you can always click around and/or restart if one is missing).
* THIS IS PRE-ALPHA SOFTWARE, be gentle with it!
* Please report any issues here: https://github.com/itchio/itch/issues

==============================

As a developer, all you have to do to make sure your app can be run with itch is:

* Have a single top-level executable in an archive (.zip, .7z, .tar.gz, .tar.bz2), or an InnoSetup/NSIS/MSI installer
* Tag your uploads properly (the little windows/linux/osx logo checkboxes when uploading a game)
* That's it!

Make sure to test that it launches fine for others within the app. For now, you can run itch from the command-line to see debug output.

If you're really lost, ping me on twitter with the URL of your entry, and I'll try to see what's up.

(Also, yes, this is an official itch.io project, and we'll be supporting it, adding bugs and fixing features.)

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2482Coolness0%

Comments

cxsquared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:41am

Really cool app. It's always nice to see good tools to play more LD games.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:04am

After discussion, I disabled voting for this entry, see here for why: https://twitter.com/fasterthanlime/status/676298647236120576

Comments on itch are better directed at the github repo: https://github.com/itchio/itch (or 'Help => Report Issue') or the itch.io community forums

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:22am

Wow this sounds great, will have a look at it, after a duty shift at the offive after only 3 hours of sleep ;)

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:29am

good work man, it's cool to see itch games [along with my own] on a desktop client, and the installation process couldn't be simpler [although, I do hope you add html games support in the near future!].

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Love this! And love that it works with collections, which is something I never used on itch.io... until now! This will really help a ton with playing Windows entries in jams. Thank you!!!!

Atmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Does this work with .rar files ?

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:30pm

This is cool. I've made a special downloadable version of my own entry and added it to itch.io just to test it out. Works great! :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:38pm

The app does not support the .rar format at this time, nor is it planned.

If you're looking for a good, modern compression format I recommend .7z instead!

Pusty says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:41pm

wow this is awesome! I'm not sure why some of my games run some not (although it's awesome that they ran!). Also what if someone is releasing various versions? Well anyways can't wait to see more!

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Huh, seems cool. I'm giving this a download, I'll try to get my entry working with it later.

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Didn't all this existed, i'm gonna give it a try!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:43am

0.9.3 is out, you can alt-click on a game's thumbnails to see a log if your game failed to install/run properly!

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:16am

This is fantastic

bfmags says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01pm

awesome!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:31pm

so glad this has finally come out. itch.io is a fantastic website and i'm so happy that its now a fantastic app.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:44am

You have no idea how happy this makes me! I love itch.io!!! Great work :D keep it up!

dx0ne says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:40am

Just wanted to thank you a million for this. You rock!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:15pm

+1 for awesomeness

Tanton-H2X says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:17am

wooooo!
Really Nice!!
Hope it for a looong time!

laaph says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:25am

Is there a way to change the directory that the games are kept at (specifically on OSX)? I might try trickery with symlinks.

local minimum says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:17pm

Hi. I'd love "Random LD34 game" collection (working on tag). Maybe actually trending tag or something in general. It is a bit annoying to have tabs open in the browser as it works at present, but I guess this is just an interim thing. Great work though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]