Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Spriggan

by Shared - Compo Entry

Controls are A and D to move, space to jump, left click to throw seeds and right click them to make them grow. You can hover with right click to grow multiple seeds. Your seeds grow into thorns to block your enemies, use them to get past them. Use W to climb vines.

Source avaible on web page.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#710Innovation2.74
#735Theme3.37
#749Mood2.53
#808Graphics2.40
#923Overall2.53
#953Fun1.89
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

donvermo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:01pm

The game has a nice premise but I feel the gameplay falls a bit flat, it could be my preferred way of playing but the enemies can move at the exact same speed as I can (In the air even). When I jump to the side and an enemy jumps into view I already know I am lost since there is no dodging his contact.

Shared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:08pm

You are supposed to use your thorns to block enemies, if they were slower than you, that mechanic would be useless

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:10pm

The enemies are way too hard to get past, The growing falls a bit short, i dont know when i am in range(?) to grow them It's a nice idea, but needs improvement.

There is a difference between the player graphics and the level graphics. It comes out as inconsistence.

Overall, it's a pretty cool idea, but the game is lacking some parts. I'd love to play it again if you update it a bit more.

rujo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:12pm

very difficult to figure out how to control the player and what to do exactly. nice graphics btw and good take on one of the themes (growing)

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Nice idea. Quite a difficult game, but would be great to see a more fleshed out version.

Rogod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Well I can't get past the first enemy for the same reason. The game mechanics past jumping and moving are flawed. The style is nice, the game feels good to play, but there doesn't seem to be much I can "do" to stop my inevitable end. I thought maybe because I'm supposed to grow that I've gotta go in the water? But no, that kills me too.
Also, unoriginal audio - sounds could have been ripped from Spelunky.

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:18pm

A good game, I found it really challenging though. Just getting past the first few enemies was hard work. Good concept.

Shared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Sounds were made with http://www.bfxr.net/
And thanks for all the good feedback, I indeed like my games hard

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:56pm

I like the colors. It's a bit slow to me, and I don't really get the basics. Maybe you should try to make it a bit more nervous and clear next time!
Good job.

RikkyPikki says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:16pm

The "throwing seeds and growing" thing was a good idea but it just feels bad to use. And the enemies just jump over the plants.

Jacktheviper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:08pm

The basic gameplay mechanic is very interesting, I loved the idea of an more strategic action plaformer where just running and gunning isn't going to cut it.

What was wrong with the enemy wasn't the fact that he is too fast, but that his AI is too precise, he doesn't have any delay between jumps or when changing directions and follows the player perfectly, this was frustrating and undermined the gameplay, for example I was expecting to be able to run under him and then grow a plant to block his path, that would feel really good as a player.

Even a hardcore game should easy in the player at first presenting situations and easy enemies that serve to teach the gameplay mechanics, specially if they are unusual or hard to use.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:23am

Controls felt a bit awkward, and I expected the seeds to grow more or be more potent. I died a dozen times just trying to get past the first enemy. Interesting premise though. I like that the seeds are indirect "weapons" rather than flavoured bullets.

hunttis says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:35am

The mechanic for the thorns was interesting, but it was hard to use, since the screen moved and clicking in the right spots was difficult. Especially since the thorns didn't grow if you clicked several times.

Love myself a good platformer, and you have something original here, so I hope to see some post-ld builds too :)

gallerdude says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:37pm

Gameplay is meh, but fun omce you get into it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]