Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Zunus

by Jonathan Whiting - Compo Entry

A 2 button space trading miniature. Buy, sell, dodge pirates, fling asteroids and get berated by your gran.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Overall4.18
#28Fun4.00
#34Graphics4.37
#40Theme4.36
#41Mood3.96
#88Innovation3.89
#107Humor3.44
#163Audio3.42
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

rockford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25pm

OMG... amazing. Remind me Elite. Playable, smooth, amazing visuals, nice content... My favorite until now.

LabOne says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Looks amazing, excellent camera control.

adamgryu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:29pm

This looks great! I like the style a lot. It's got some cute personality. The sound effects are also kind of fun :)

uthamon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Awesome controls and visuals. Escaping that orange spaceship was super fun.

ranseur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Very strong entry! I'll check your other games.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Wow !That was cool !

keepee says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:01pm

good stuff, probably the best i've played so far. my only crit is that the single pixel spacing on the text combined with all caps makes it not easy on the eyes to read.

_stice says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Game crashes on startup :/ Is it only for 64-bit PC's or something? I'm on a 32-bit one.

MisterAddy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Looks really cool, no chance of a Linux version...? :)

fishbrain says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Great visuals - elegant and smooth.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:45pm

_stice: It's not, but it does maybe require a not tooo old 3d graphics card. If you can run it from a command line and give me the output I can see if I can figure out what's happening.

MisterAddy: It's certainly possible, but no promises.

walaber says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:05am

fantastic! The controls feel great, the simple graphical style is really effective, and the exploration and little bits of story really round it out.

SeaDads says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Oh man, love the smooth pixel style, I'm a sucker for this kind of game. Controls wonderfully!

newbeings says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Great job - awesome camera work. Great dialogue. Tight controls - well done!

TRAB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:26am

This is probably my favorite LD34 game so far. Excellent dialogue, lots of wit and character to everything here. Perfect graphic consistency and I loved the minimalist designs of the stations. Cool names, too. Controls were difficult, but I think mostly that was because of the low framerate (which looked intentional, idk if it was). This was the most fun I've had doing fetch quests since Ocarina, so hey, there's that

dx0ne says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:06pm

And we have a winner. It's just great. Two buttons and so much to do. And a story!

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:08am

This is great! The controls seem a little odd at first but they're easy to get the hang of, and they're really fun! Having the space stations be obstacles themselves was really clever, too. Great work!

23 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:00am

Doesn't seem to start on my machine, or crashes at startup like _stice mentioned. I'm on a Lenovo x230, Windows 7 64 bit, graphics card is Intel Graphics HD 4000 - guess that last bit explains it?

Tried running from cmd.exe but there was no output to the console. Running from Cygwin it segfaults.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Perfect! When I delivered calamari and red crab while dodging asteroids and an orange pursuer, I felt immersed in a consistent world. When an asteroid or I collided and we broke apart into our comprising line segments I felt admiration for the consistency. When I selected menu options using the left/right controls and filled up them as progress bars, I felt like the whole game snapped together. The names and shapes of the stations around my ship kept me from getting lost in deep space, after taking a minute to realize that was what they were. If you continue to develop this, I accidentally discovered I could travel faster from a station on the perimeter by immediately colliding, since that would spawn me back at Zunus which tended to be in the center for my cursory experience in playing this completely immersive and innovative delivery market between Asteroids.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:11pm

BTW, if you continue to develop this gem, as _stice and 23 mentioned above, the game crashed on startup when I had my graphics card in low performance mode. When I turned on high performance mode, it worked fine. I am using AlienWare M11x with a graphics mode that can be toggled to high performance.

davekalina says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Looks great, and now I'm hungry

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Great entry.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:55am

Incredible amount of polish! You really nailed the mood and controls. The entire world felt very alive despite the minimal graphics.

Aik says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:44am

I did need to tell my graphics card to run it. The integrated intel rubbish can't handle the lines, apparently. Also, the first time I played nothing happened when I got over $50, but the second time it worked.

Anyway, good stuff. I hope you expand it.

personalurban says ...
Jan 15, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Yeah, really good. Camera work was excellent and swinging asteroids around was great fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]