Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Flower Power

by RikkyPikki - Compo Entry

In this game you play as a gardener.
Water the flowers to make them grow.
The goal is to climb as high as you can while avoiding various flying objects.

Don't be fooled by the funny music and happy graphics because it's a very difficult game that requires quick reactions, strategic tactics and flying object predictions.

This was my first time using javascript/html and im really happy with the result.

Share your high score in the comments!

Update:
I have ported the game to android and added leaderboards, achievements and customizable skins for the character. Link down below.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#9Theme4.49
#118Humor3.38
#131Fun3.68
#136Mood3.57
#153Audio3.46
#170Innovation3.70
#183Overall3.65
#347Graphics3.35

Comments

freddyp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:22am

Really fun and addicting! :) Made it to 221 and then I got smashed by an alien.

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:12am

This was fun, and the music is nice. Good job integrating both themes into your game!

madcoil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:28am

Cool! I love the music, and the game itself has a good challenge!

SayRafon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Good job, both theme are here ! Pretty hard but really cool !

Shared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Really great and fun game.

shar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:58pm

gr8!

sitronTe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Quite entertaining. Good job!

shar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:07pm

man, I know how its difficult making games in html5 canvas. Good job, your game is fun! btw got only 48 meters =)

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:52pm

You contacted me in stream and I am aware that the game is framerate dependant so I'm going to ignore the fact that the difficulty increases substantially due to that.

Fun little game! Very challenging and fun concept! My high-score became 96.16 meters!

Good job :)

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:51pm

very fun, good job.

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Nice, I liked the mood and the visuals in particular. Spot on with the theme. Well done!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:46am

Really simple idea that works really well. Surprisingly hard. Perfect theme fit.

ranmaru90 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:06pm

This is the most addicting LD34 game I've played so far....

Dalkor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Good all around. Fun to play, music suits the game. Liked seeing the various things appear the more my flowers grew.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Great game! I love everything in it except that if you are on a corner you could be easily killed by an obstacle without having time to react.

ceosol says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:27pm

I think you pick great sound and music to fit with your overall concept. Everything meshes together very well.

JALgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Thsi game is really fun! It's also really nice that you were able to use both themes in such a nice way.

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:29pm

damn helicopters!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Great game!

mikedurn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Good difficulty and use of theme. Looks nice, too!

nosfer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:11am

Argh! Too hard for me :)

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:30pm

You manage to integrate both theme in a cute little and challenging game :) Well done!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:16am

A pretty damn interesting game! Difficult, but fairly so! I like how you have to juggle how high each flower can grow. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]