Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The War of Japants

by Blobo - Compo Entry

You are that last pair of pants in the Ninjean lineage.

It is your job to hunt down as many other pairs of pants as possible, while still being a totally cool ninja. With your belt as your headband, and your holy ninja stars, leap from building to building, scale the towers, and go for the highscore!

this game also features…

A Totally cool background!

Epic Procedural Generation!

A Fancy Ancient mode, setting the game to look like a really old movie! (may slow down performance)

The coolest protagonist you would ever want on a wire coat hanger!

Headband Physics!

Wall Climbing!

The accurate portrayal of putting pants on every day!

And so much more!

Controls : Spacebar, Left Shift

Theme: Two Button Controls

Feel free to post your highscores!
mine is:
Score: 7421 (10734 PostLD)
Enemies: 21


CHANGE LOG: (for post LD versions)

V1: Made game.

V1.1: (First PostLD V.)
-Changed attack button to enter.
-added mountains.
-added belt rankings.
-added a highscore system.
-added a secret.

V1.13:
-fixed some fog issues on the mountains.

V1.14:
-Fixed even more fog issues.
-fixed the placement of some tiles being generated/where they generate the next tile.
-added a new shootable obsticle in the vertical segment
-fixed the AI of the Spearman
-Reduced cooldown on attacks
-Fixed some problems with jumping immedietly after landing.
-Fixed some enemy placements in the mountain segments.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#130Humor3.32
#351Mood3.15
#354Audio2.92
#391Graphics3.27
#617Theme3.56
#632Overall3.06
#639Fun2.94
#873Innovation2.34

Comments

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Nice idea. But I couldn't jump to the first platform always? Looks cool though

Robin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:25pm

A bit too frustrating in my opinion. You couldn't always react to things in front of you, and the sloped roofs were hard to jump off of. The walljumping made the camera go weird. I liked the custom music :)

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:25am

It is impossible to play this game without a huge, stupid grin. That said, the level generation felt a little trollish. Adding a double jump would go a long ways toward helping the player get through a tough segment. I greatly enjoyed the headband physics.

Sourtrance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:32am

It's think it's neat, though the controls are a bit hard. The graphics and the music are cool. I really wish the music didn't restart every time I start a new game though!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53am

Nice graphics and concept. Camera got a bit glitch at times like when jumping up through the tunnel, which was really cool otherwise. Jump could be a little farther, some of the jumps seem impossible. Hitting enemies with the ninja star was really hard. Good music.

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06am

The stone platform is very hard to jump too, especially since you have a small window of time to figure out what's coming since it's procedural. The curved buildings were frustrating as they sometimes prevented my jumping.
Nice graphics and music though :)

RiOrius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06am

Fun game. Pretty frustrating until I figured out that jumping at the peak of rooftops always got me safely to the next platform (and let me skip the awkward downslopes). Loved the music!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Pretty fun, however, very difficult. I feel like if you tweaked some sliders you'd increase your fun value by quite a bit.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Small glitches but fun its fun to play, music is key well designed

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Unusual controls and frustrating gameplay, interesting setting and music though

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Very hard to control. I am not a huge fan of runner games in general, I am just sick of them to be honest lol.. But yeah I got past a few buildings and at that point I got too frustrated with the controls.

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23pm

cool game but kinda glitchy and repetitive

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Thanks for all the feedback!

The game is supposed to be hard.

i honestly dont see how the controls are frustrating or "unusual"

and thanks for all the compliments too! i'll try my best to play all of your guys's games as well. again, thanks for all the feedback!

globemaster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Cool game. I think easing up the difficulty would have helped. It was very hard right away. Nice job, though!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Nice game, cool graphics, though a bit hard.

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:36am

Ancient mode is awesome!

Pusty says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:44pm

hahahaha :D nice one

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Very cool endless runner. Part with small stone brick island in between gets me every time though. Ancient mode definitely improves the mood, IMO should be enabled default. Music get repetitive very fast, probably because I keep hearing only first few seconds due to my inability to stay alive for any extended amount of time;)

jigalx says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Incredibly hard, but cool! Nice little touch with the ancient mode.

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:34pm

You seem to have something nice on its way here! It was a bit unforgiving though, would have been nice with some warm-up enemies, or more health.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Love the game and your humour! The music totally works, the graphics are nice and hilarious, and the obstacles are really well designed! Sometimes the enemies are difficult to see and pop up in slightly odd places, and it gets REALLY tricky when you have to jump to a platform that's just slightly higher than your current one - that gives you a lot less time to react, since the ninja pants jump so high.

Overall it's a super nice game! Thanks a lot :)

I recorded when I played it, and I'm uploading the video here: https://youtu.be/ZRJytxC3KD0

rjhelms says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:02pm

I like the ancient mode - a nice touch.

I agree with others that this game's really difficult - a ramp-up in difficulty at the start would be a good improvement.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Nice twist on roof runner games, I found it a bit hard to jump on the peaked roofs, my pants jumped automatically and then missed the ledge, so I couldn't jump in time - I also found a sideways area, you should make those more common, as they add variety. I found it satisfying to shoot ninja stars at rival pants.

I gave you the highest score i've given any game so far for mood and humor.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Nice! Well done!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Really nice and funny game! Although the jump control is not always perfectly responsive, I did managed to go relatively far :)

Well done.

felilix says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:03am

Haha hilarious! I like the way you think. Ancient mode is OG.

Muel says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Can't run =(
Something weird on my machine. I open the game, but it doesn't load. Just keep waiting forever...

rsf-krx says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:40pm

I really liked the graphics and audio in this one, especially the ancient mode :)
I did find the jumping to be a bit unresponsive if I tried jumping as soon as I landed on a platform. I don't know if that was intentional, but it definitely made timing harder. Overall though a fun game.

ruerob says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:45pm

My highscore until now is 2326. It's a really fun game after getting used to the controls! great work on this!

aeveis says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:47pm

controls were a bit hard, especially with those curved roofs. I did run into a vertical part was made things more interesting. I also expected a shorter/longer jump based on how fast I tapped the jump button, I think it was consistent regardless of what I did. Nice to see all the variation on level patterns though!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:00am

I really liked the vertical run up that wall, that was a cool surprise.

his was a quirky endless runner but it suffers alot from the controls feeling unresponsive. Also, some of the jumps are just not spaced right-- like theyre one tile shorter than the length of the jump.

We also made a very difficult game though so I get it-- you play your own game you get tunnel vision because you play it yourself so many times you start designing challenges for yourself while test playing and as a result the game gets real hard.

Jwatt says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:36pm

You asked for feedback, and this is a great chance to give some, since I immediately saw some issues that were fundamentally hindering the simple gameplay. So while I am focusing on the negatives because they're easier to write about (and maybe because that's the kind of guy I am), I don't mean to discourage you in any way. I can see the effort is still there, and I appreciate you taking risks to liven up the game, like those 90 degree turns upwards. The neat Japanese aesthetic to tie it all together thematically is worth mentioning as well.

...

Okay, so the biggest nuisance is easy to condense into one example: those small platform jumps.

They demonstrate a lot of what needs fixing in this whole experience. I've seen straight up bugs like the player flying inside a wall. There's the classic missing the jump because I wasn't able to predict what was coming. Sometimes I manage to do it and feel like I didn't earn it.

The point about not being able to see it coming implies that the running speed in this game isn't proper for doing these kinds of precise jumps. There's no variation with how heavily you've pressed the jump button either, which is a detail I really feel you should've focused on, since - well - it's only one of two buttons, after all. Plenty of those "little things" that pile up to make me feel like it wasn't my fault I died. And they come back to haunt you on a lesser scale when fighting enemies, for example.

I think the common factor is that the game feels like it's going in fast-forward. This is something that happens with a lot of entries - during testing, the authors get bored of the slowness and ramp up some variables. After a weekend of having gotten used to the speed or difficulty or whatever other adjustable setting, they release the game, and the poor players who are just seeing it for the first time will feel left out of the ride. Having a third party playtester somewhere along the development is the best kind of reality check about what aspects of the design to focus on.

So because of the above points, you'll be resetting a lot. Regardless of how often you die, I'd say there's never a reason for a jam game to return to the title screen. The music restarting with resets is an additional small thing that becomes a big deal over time.

(In fact, I think title screens in LD games are unnecessary altogether. They don't offer any kind of meaningful representation, because a screenshot is more informative in a huge list of games anyway, and the lack of an options menu is simply an exercise in having reasonable default configurations to begin with.)

The graphics are tasteful for the most part. You've got some shader and particle type things going on that aren't overused or distracting. Be careful of pixel-perfect sprites stretching out, though. The only place where I felt like you were being lazy with the sprites was the sudden screenful of monotonous brick tiles in the tunnels.

One trick people easily overlook is fonts. Picking something beyond system fonts is an implementation-wise quick way to bring the visual style to the next level - for a game like this, many of the more readable bitmap fonts on Dafont would be appropriate. Consider the layout as well; place the relevant text to where the player can see it, and try to keep the possible text spawns to a minimum. (Text popping up in the middle of the screen is a bit of a dirty solution, and in this case makes some of it blend with the backgrounds. Better to dedicate some spot on the screen for announcements only.)

...

Hopefully you'll find at least some of my ramblings helpful. Grats for finishing and good luck on future LDs.

scorched says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Liked the music and the ancient mode! :-)

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Fun game!It's a great game!

Strike says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Endless runner with very unresponsive jump. That's sad.

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Overall really nice. I like the grahics and humoristic part that it's ninjapants. ^^
Music is not bad but a little repetetive. :)

PowerSpark says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Good idea, but the roof slopes give you only a few spots to jump from. Difficult.

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Fun game. Nice graphics. An interesting take on a Canabalt style game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]