Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Button Flower

by jacobturn - Compo Entry

Button Flower:
Jacob (age 11.9) has created a different game this time. He did all the art and coding with Gamemaker Studio with built in sprite editor. Dad is helping compile and post the entry but that is all the help dad has done.

You play the game with the arrow buttons after you click the wingdings in the start screen. Can you figure out the secrets contained? Some buttons make you grow. Some buttons make you shrivel. Can you figure out how to win?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

ccglp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47pm

"You won i guess" Only guess? I didn't win really? xDD
Nice little game!

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Yay I won! Good solid game and there's some strategy to winning too. I don't think I found any secrets though :( Great use of both themes!... Now I wonder where I can get some cookies from right now.

YinYin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Why can't I just eat all those cookies?

teamross says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:20pm

I won i guess!! Hahaha

I dont know 100% if i won correctly, but was really funny :P

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Hee-hee, I won! (I guess) :P

peejaygee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:20am

Couldn't get the web version to run, but the windows version run, the fonts for me on the screen and bottom left of the screen seemed to not work, guessing I don't have that font installed, but overall it's a good start, I guess I won.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:26am

Interesting concept but lacks game play.

Levi D. Smith says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:58am

Great job Jacob! It reminded me of some of my old QBasic games. I was able to avoid the cookies and reach he goal! Loved the ending message! I couldn't figure out the secrets.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]