Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Replication

by illblew - Compo Entry

Replication is about replicating to get to the top and feed replication. If you want to replicate you need to first understand replication so you can replicate.

R = Restart Level
Right Arrow = Push Bar
Up = Replicate

Get a replicated block all the way up to between the two arrows and you win!

PRESS SPACE when you win a level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#188Innovation3.67
#362Theme3.87
#814Overall2.80
#882Fun2.40
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38am

very interesting game, though the sound was to ear piercing. had to turn the volume off.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28am

Interesting concept. I think this game would be much more fun without the whole "2 button controls" restriction though. I can imagine some pretty cool puzzles.

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:03am

Very unique! Game lagged pretty hard sometimes.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Proves the point that replication is fun. : ) I would like to see you do more with the concept.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Im not sure if I really did it right, but interesting game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/G4-JCtlxKuU

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Tried to replicate up to the top but the framerate got so bad and the collisions stopped being accurate, I couldn't complete the first level unfortunately. :(

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Left arrow also worked as a control. Couldn't understand what to do, game lagged.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Game mechanic is interesting but game itself unplayable now. It hangs the browser when spawm TOOO MANY objets. So I can't beat even first levels :C

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]