Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Mining Game

by DugelStudios - Jam Entry

*UPDATE* this wad earlier a compo entry, but I changed it to a jam entry because the next day I had to fix a few bugs, aswell as ad a few more features. Also the previous builds werent working, but now i switched to WebGL so it should work now.

Fight enemys and mine resources to gain money and upgrade your equipment.

This is an incomplete game. I did not have much time this weekend, so I couldnt finish the game. I play to finish this game in the future. I will complete the game in a day or two and upload the finished product here, so come back soon! (if i do that, i will opt out of all the categories because we aare only suppoes to have 48 hours)

I never got around to implementing the theme. (I was going to make the player use their money to build a mining drill, therefore 'growing' your mining drill throughout the game.)

What the game is missing:
-ending. (boss)
-balanced economy, health, damage, and spawn rates.
-polishe
-animations
-fix shop glitch
-camera clamping.
-Hull was never implemented.
-you have to refresh to restart
-much much much more that im too lazy to think of.

What you can do now:
-Increased health by 1000% (because I havent implemented health packs yet)
-you can mine ores and upgrade weapons, health, hull, and mine speed.
-kill enemys.
-discover new ores
-get money$$$
-upgrade equipment
-explore the procedurally generated environment.
-watch in amazement as blocks auto orientate themselves
-enjoy the awful programmer art.
-Did all the way down to discover the rare crystallite ore

Game wiki:
ORES VALUES:
Painite - 150
Coltan - 225
Black Opal - 450
Blue Garnet - 825
Jadeite - 1350
Indium - 2850
Crystallite - 5000

ENEMYS:
Worm
Squid
Eye
Tower

hope you like the game so far. Please leave feedback below!!


*FAQ*
Q. controls?
A. WASD for movement, mine with left click, attack with right click

Q. why is there a minecraft sword?
A. I didnt download the texture or anything, I made it myself. When your making a sword at 16x16 resolution, theres only so many ways you can make a basic sword in that resolution. Therefore, differentiation between any two wont be very significant, which is why the sword looks almost identical to a minecraft sword.

Q. The shop does not display the correct price.
A. I know. I didnt have time to fix it. Please read the disclaimer below.

*DISCLAIMER*
Im real sorry about the problems people are having with the game. If you read the description (Which you probably didnt), it is a totally imcomplete and what you are playing right now is literally a build that I made while developing (without even polishing things up for a playable demo) Im sorry that I couldnt add basic demo functionality (i.e tutorial, bugs, etc). This is just a product of my bad scope and time managment. :) Again im sorry for this, and i dont really have a good excuse why this game's stability is at the current state that it is. Also for the people saying that the game crashed when you die, I'm aware of that. What happens is that I destroy the player and then the camera has nothing to follow, which is why the game crashes. I didnt have time to add in a respawn. (just shows how bad my time management was, haha)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#966Graphics(Jam)2.27
#996Mood(Jam)2.00
#1054Overall(Jam)2.53

Comments

Mixer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:21am

Hey, could rate because there was no zip bundle. I would have had to go and download each individual file. Still time to fix!

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22am

That's clearly a reskinned minecraft sword. you can't use derivative works for the compo. do another 24 hours and submit for the jam

snowshovelboy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22am

You should bundle the exe and the data folder into a single zip file for easier downloading.

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31am

Couldn't rate as well. Put it all into a zip and then upload it. Good luck.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:34am

Didn't bother going through all the trouble to download it. Please put it all in one archive next time!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:45am

Couldn't rate either. Need to zip both files together.

swellbastion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47am

osx link says i need permission to download

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53am

OSX link is broken

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23am

Please do continue develop this game! Great potential

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26am

The fact that each individual file needs to be downloaded is REALLY annoying, and the game is REALLY unfinished (though that's understandable, as you said you didn't have much time this weekend.

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:28am

The OS/X version is asking for permission to download

DugelStudios says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Sorry about the files not working properly... I will fix it later tonight when i am home. Sorry for the inconvience.

matthewd673 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:29am

Very confusing

mcr6114 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:37am

Good concept, but definitely needs work.

maerzhase3000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:41am

no inovation.

Sourtrance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:46am

I'm not exactly sure how to play but it seems like a nice concept.

Flip120 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:51am

I little confusing, but have a lot of potential

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:56am

After figuring out the controls, I found it quite good. I think there's a really good baseline to expand on here, and I'd love to play more if you decide to continue developing :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:58am

Flying? Maybe if the character dont fly could be better.
That minecraft sword surprised me

Bocodillo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:58am

Fun idea, reminded me of Motherlode (which is a good thing!)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01am

Definitely noticed some bugs. An error message came up when I died. Controls were a bit cryptic. Well done, however.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:07am

Definitely needs more work, but isn't a bad start. Some things that would help if you're going to show this to more people:

1. Put the controls somewhere. Anywhere. It's frustrating getting hit by enemies and not knowing how to fight back.
2. I think enemies should not be allowed in the shop. It'd help with decision making while you're in there.
3. I died and the game crashed. Not sure if this is a one time thing or not, but something to look into.

Good job.

DugelStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26am

Im real sorry about the problems people are having with the game. If you read the description (Which you probably didnt), it is a totally imcomplete and what you are playing right now is literally a build that I made while developing (without even polishing things up for a playable demo) Im sorry that I couldnt add basic demo functionality (i.e tutorial, bugs, etc). This is just a product of my bad scope and time managment. :) Again im sorry for this, and i dont really have a good excuse why this game's stability is at the current state that it is. Also for the people saying that the game crashed when you die, I'm aware of that. What happens is that I destroy the player and then the camera has nothing to follow, which is why the game crashes. I didnt have time to add in a respawn. (just shows how bad my time management was, haha)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Nice concept but overly confusing

hunttis says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:46am

Interesting, but very broken. I hope you'll work on it post-ld.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]