Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Yggshroom

by Ghen - Compo Entry

Thank you guys for the feedback, really appreciate it! :D

this game indeed not really well polished in my opinion, i made it in hurry and struggle (since i barely can do art stuff lol)

BUT i do indeed planning to continuing this game, update it wth new feature :D

============================================================================

This is my game submission for LD34.

You can read the tutorial in the game main menu.

Inspired by one of the "forbidden" game on Atari.

Game backstory (made this just for fun, sorry for any grammar mistake, and don't take it seriously ) :

John is Professor from one of the most famous Uni, about a month ago, he and his colleague found a mysterious fossil/seed in an iceberg, after long research, he found out that the seed actually bunch of ancient huge mushroom spores, he called it Yggshroom, the name derived from Yggdrasil tree from norse mythology.

After some thought, he want to revive it, but this mushroom is not like ordinary mushroom, it needs bunch of water constantly and for some odd reason it also need electricity as catalyst.

He prepare the most advance generator he can get, this generator convert and run H2O into energy, and its special metal allow it to self healing as long as it still active and got a steady amount of water.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#137Fun3.67
#256Humor2.88
#267Theme3.98
#313Overall3.45
#372Graphics3.31
#427Audio2.74
#443Mood3.01
#540Innovation3.07

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:41am

Great game! I really felt like a mad scientist! ..Who grows mushrooms! Err.. Yggshrooms!

Despite my best efforts, my generator broke and I wasn't able to do much from there :(

socapex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:41am

Wow, this is actually serious fun. Nice twist on a classic!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:44am

2m 36s! Was enjoyable. :) I liked the hectic nature of the gameplay and watching as the mushroom grew into the sky was fun. With all that stress no wonder the poor doctor went bald.

Magicolo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47am

Double theme achievement unlocked!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:49am

Very good game! I enjoyed playing it and the music was nice to listen to. I think the meteors or whatever they are should spawn slower at first so you can get a feel for what does what.

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57am

That was a fun little game! really enjoyed it! Nice work! :)

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:08am

Cool mini micro-management game.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:20am

Good job. Easy to figure out how to do the next try better.

swellbastion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:29am

more games should have backstories like this :]

kidando says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:06am

Great play. Simple to learn but hard to master. Awesome entry

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:59am

Cool game. I'd make it so that the walking sound is way less frequent, as the walk animation is very slow and the sound is not in sync with it.

I like the fact that you used both themes. Game was a bit of fast fun. I finished it in slightly more than two minutes, is that good ;)?

Good luck!

John Drury says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:55am

gj with two-touch controls! Completed at around 2m40s. Super responsive and fun :D

pcmaster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:00am

I survived a couple minutes, the graphics is awesome, it has sounds and matches the theme, what more could one want? :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:18am

Really fun game. Nicely Done!

Foofanoo42 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:20am

Yeah that was certainly fun and well balanced. I really wanted to grow that mushroom. Couldn't work out where it was at the start though.

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:54am

This is one of the best games I've played so far. Not too hard, but still challenging. The graphical style is great. There's always something to do, and no down time. Either you go to the well, fix the machine or grow the mushroom. Well done!

BUNN1E5 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Rally fun I played for quite a while!

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Very Nice game congratulations

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Pretty damn fun game, forcing the player to juggle three different resources. Well done! (The walking sound effect got super annoying super fast, though)

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:43pm

It's a fun game. I think there is some sort of endscreen or winscreen? I grew the mushroom to the top two times but every time I was to quick to click something and the screen disappeared. Maybe you could make that screen stay a little longer?

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Good fun game. Nice music, good quality pixel graphics and addictive gameplay. :)

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:56pm

hey guys!
thanks so much for playing and the positive feedback, this is my 2nd LD, so it really means a lot to me :D

@morgan
that probably because when those screen come up, you press the arrow key, because like in the mainmenu, arrow key also use to chose either replay or back to menu when the win and lose screen appear
i will fix that soon, thanks for the feedback!

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Hey, this one was really fun! Loved the gameplay, not super original but really engaging. Glad you used both themes, even when two buttons was used in the simplest way possible.

Little things I'd fix. If you win while holding an arrow, you'll miss the game over screen. And the wrench icon should appear a bit more often.

(why do you need water to fix the generator tho)

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23pm

@reggianito its explained on the game backstory on the description :D

Gins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:24pm

I really liked this one. Charming presentation, simple and well executed gameplay :)

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Loved the game! Simple, fresh and innovative. Congrats! ;)

Huginn18 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Nice little game with some potential. With some It would be great time waster for mobile devices

Skywilly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:34pm

I love this little game. it's a great idea, very simple & addictive.

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Simple mechanic that's well executed and moreish gameplay! Good job!

Firellon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Well done! Simple yet addictive, this game is. Backstory is pretty crazy, still :)
Good compositoin from abundant-music you generated, sound conveniently it is. Ygg!

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Really nice game!

I liked the animations of the little things that attacked the generator. The walking sound effect was also really nice.

The end of the game was a bit anticlimactic though; I was hoping for a bit more when the mushroom reached the top of the screen, but it's still good for a game jam.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Great fun

AlexaCol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Addicting little game. 9/10

Pusty says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Simple and fun to play!

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Very cool game! It`s very fun to play and the art style is nice too!

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Good entry! Played well.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:17am

Wow. Simply amazing.

Chaserbrown says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:24am

I really loved this! It was awesome how you had to balance 3 things at the same time, as well as avoiding meteors.

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04am

This was really addictive,the art style was good too.

Acerio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:45am

Really polished game and the art style looked great!

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:35am

super fun! a little bit too easy tho. some difficulty would not hurt.

edriavw says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:37am

i got 2m 31s, fun little game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:38am

Excellent fun :) Great job!

BlazzGuy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Fast paced, fun game. Double theme used effectively, and a 'tutorial' that explains everything. 2m4s, by the way.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Had a surprising amount of fun playing this till the end. Two tries, a little over two minutes to finish the second round! Really amusing, you should totally make another level or something that comes after it.

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

rzuf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:03pm

That was simple but actually very fun to play. :D Awesome pixel art and good deal of frantic action. :D

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Pretty fun game! With the backstory, it makes a lot more sense. Also, them slimes are eeeeeviiiill!!

OwT says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:41pm

This was really fun! Easy to learn, but it got harder with time. Had a really nice, simply feeling to it. Great game! :)

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Very nice, keeps me busy :). Never beat my 2m10s on one of the earlier tries. Seems like I shouldn't neglect the generator as it runs less efficient the more it is damaged. Or am I imagining things? :)

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Cool game, kept getting squashed by meteors.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24pm

The art is cute and the mechanic is interesting. The sound is a bit annoying...

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:27pm

this was hectic lol kept me on my toes which is great :)

Well Done !!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:37pm

cute and creative, very fun and challenging, nice job!

h.attila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Haha, I think I know the "forbidden" game that it was based on. :) Really nice game though, very well presented, fun, challenging. Nice use of both themes.

propter_ludus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Fun game. I quite enjoyed the mechanics. The backstory was interesting.
My only gripe would be the sound design. Filling water and watering the mushroom is very harsh. I feel like it didn't fit the action I was performing. At first I thought it was an alarm going off because I was missing something.

Overall great job! I really liked it.

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:19am

This game is really polished, I really like the simple visual style and the sound effects. They work well to give it a charming mood. The gameplay seemed balanced quite fairly, I failed a few times because I was too careless about getting hit by meteors, but once you realise that the most important thing is dodging them and you don't really have to worry about the generator dying (because you can just heal it), it's not very difficult. One suggestion I have is to make the plant decrease in size over time, to force the player into a more active playstyle where they have to risk getting hit in order to grow the plant, rather than simply healing the generator and waiting for a gap in the meteors. As well as that, perhaps something could be done to put a bit more variety into the gameplay, perhaps enemies being more likely to spawn opposite to your side, or multiple types of enemies? I found that more often than not, they would just spawn under me and die immediately. Overall, this is a great compo entry, with a nice simple concept that was executed really well.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:26am

Fun! I wish there was a more thematic reason for the stressor than "a billion meteors", but I understand why they're there. The three item resource management leant itself well to the frenetic atmosphere of the game. Great work!

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:35am

Awesome double theme use!

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:05am

thanks for the positive feedback guys, really appreciate it! :D

@bumblepie
thanks for the suggestion!, indeed i'm planning to continue is as post-LD jam, but we'll see how it goes :D

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:59am

Simple and straightforward. It gives me a thing to do, and I do it! I feel like I didn't understand the game from the instructions.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:36am

Very off the wall. It was quite fun.

chabuduo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:15am

Pretty cool how the simple mechanics allow for so much gameplay!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:52am

Wow! First Double theme one that I played! You did some awesome job with so little asset. This will be a hit on the apple store, no doubt. I only wished the mushroom protected me from the meteors.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Very good entry, has something common in concept with our game indeed! Love mechanics and art!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Great game, was playing for quiet a bit, game had me hooked! One change that I can suggest is having the well give a certain amount of repair then it goes into cool down because it seemed a little over powered how I could keep healing it. However, great game!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:06pm

It took me a minute to get what was going on but once I did this game was pretty fun. I somewhat expected the Yggshroom's cap to protect me from the falling projectiles.

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:54pm

cute idea it was nice i liked how the mushroom grew bigger

Peekotus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:59am

Mushrooms are the best

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:34am

2m 21s. That was pretty awesome. Well done utilizing both themes :)

sonelliot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:38am

Great job! I found it a bit easy. I think the meteor spawn rate needs to increase the bigger your shroom grows.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:16am

Nice little game. Main menu graphics looked really nice, and it was fun to try and beat my best time.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:16am

Yeah! I did it! Haha, nice and smooth gameplay, I really liked it, also, the graphics and the sounds were very happy and fitting with the scenario.

candlesan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:20am

Basic gameplay was quite fun. The art was cute. Sound choice was confusing though. Movement felt like repairing, filling water sounded like an error sound.

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Clever mechanics! And more stars for your, for fitting a backstory in your entry. Nice!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Simple small addicting game :) Kudos

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Nice little game :)

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Fun game, very frantic! I was a bit confused about the meteors at first but after a minute I figured it out =P Great job!

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:19pm

This was kinda fun but sometimes the plant wouldn't grow.

Herzucco says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Funny game and music ! :^)

personalurban says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Great job, really well done

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:20pm

nice game

alvarop says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Simple and clean game idea. Nothing too innovative, but I think the game is clear and easy to understand. It may get a bit repetitive after a while, but the presentation and solid controls make up for it.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:18pm

This game is deceptively fun - I feel the graphics weren't super cohesive but event the little beeping sound wasn't actually as annoying as I thought it would be. Really solid entry! Great use of just two buttons

Dege says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Great entry! Congrat! Really fun, I played two or three times (actually, more, see bug below) until I managed to win it, and this is not obvious. Use of both themes is simple but effective. Liked the graphics, you can improve but the pixel art is nice. Audio is 100% guessed.

I experienced an annoying but a couple of time. If you push toward the mushroom (ops! yggshroom, sorry), you can be pushed to the left of it, and then you are stucked there untile death :( Hope you can fix it!

Dege says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Uh, one more note: the font. You shouldn't have used it, or better, if you like that font you should have "copied" it in pixel art. I like the title screen a lot, but that font really ruins the pixel art atmosphere.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:43am

Neat little game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/7EMaRu1rC0U

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:07pm

THat was a very fun entry. I think you did a good job of using both themes. It was lovely and lots of fun!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Great concept! Felt smooth and rewarding, all while still retaining that hectic nature.

aare says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:05am

It was addicting enough to make me want to win it xD

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:22am

I really liked the game. I'd suggest adding in a "hard" mode to make it a bit more of a challenge. I really liked the mechanics of the game though, and the graphics were on point.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Good job, you got both themes into the game and it was fun to balance my time between the generator, mushroom, and water supply. I died before I could grow the full mushroom. You should give the professor a hair power-up which makes him less vulnerable to the asteroids.

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Finished in 120 seconds, was very fun to play, thank you!

broknecho says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Fun start of a game here. The time management with action dodging is quite fun. The time management portion is sorta like my entry.

Nice entry even if you think it was rushed!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:35pm

It's a pretty nice micro-management game. Got very hectic towards the end as there was a lot of variables to keep in mind and everything happened really fast.

Only problem I had was that it was a bit hard to make out the mushroom before it had been watered as it was quite small and my eyes were kinda diverted by the cord right next to it.

Other than both graphics and audio were pretty nice and helped to cement the retrofeel of the game.

All in all, nice work :)

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:06am

Simple little game. I enjoyed playing it. There wasn't much to it but it was fun for a few minutes and really felt complete.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:37am

Would have been nice if the mushroom kept growing off screen, and the game got harder as time passed. I found the game to be too easy.

Troma says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Yggdrasil? Nooo, Yggshrooms!
I really enjoyed it! Good job!

Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Nice litle one.
A bit to easy to me, once we have the methods it's very easy to dodge the meteors and feed our mush.

Just a problem, the final score dont last at all (maybe I was still pushing a button) so no way to get my final score ! :'(

Dejvo says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:36pm

nocely made game. at first, i didn't know exactly what to do, but then i got it and it's a very nice balance between avoiding, watering, repairing and stomping. well done

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Hahaha, I laugh so much while playing your game!

It's funny and have a precise mechanics!

Congratulations for your work!

Warboys says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:46pm

OMG that sound... so annoying haha.

Apart from that this is a nice little game! I played another concept almost identical to this with a robot and some nukes, but this is a much better gameplay experience for sure. Nice work on the graphics too!

Lol at the backstory, completely nuts.

Afendar says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Simply game but efficient ! i like concept. Graphism are simple for me but you have good work for your 2nd LD ! continue like this ;)

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:55pm

I knew I made the right move when I played this game

kmakai says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:59pm

I liked this one a lot, great job! (especially hitting both themes, and making fairly unique gameplay with them)

A couple of notes, if you decide to work on this more in the future: for me, the sound effects were very loud in comparison with the background music (I wish I could hear more of it, as I liked it a lot!) -- this wouldn't usually be much of an issue, but the very quick repetition of the sounds became grating after a while, specifically the "step" and "watering" sound effects. I would also suggest using a different sound for watering, to me it almost sounded like a "mistake" sound, so I was unsure if I was doing the right thing at first.

Additionally it would be cool to see more of a difficulty curve, as once I got the hang of things it became easy to finish -- honestly though you did an awesome job with limited time! I especially appreciate all of the art.

Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]