Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

AvsL

by dos - Compo Entry

A game for two players, where all's fair.

Groundmole Antonio wants to grow so high that he can take over the world!
Gardener Louis notices the danger and tries to thwart the evil groundmole plans!

Antonio grows with A button.
Louis takes Antonio back to ground with L button.

In order to win, it is recommended to do whatever it takes to keep the second player away from the keyboard - just keep it legal! :)

[done in 6 hours; HTML5; JavaScript; Allegro.js]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#24Humor3.97
#199Audio3.29
#490Theme3.72
#524Mood2.90
#536Fun3.08
#658Overall3.03
#743Graphics2.58
#883Innovation2.29

Comments

Jordan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:36am

"It is recommended to do whatever it takes to keep the second player away from the keyboard in order to win :)"

*Gets out axe

Great use of the 2 button theme!

Oye Beto says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57am

I could be more challenging if it was about smashing the button instead of holding it down.

dos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:00am

@Oye Beto: Well, as soon as the other player pushes his/her button, holding it down doesn't have any effect anymore, does it?

dos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:10am

Nevermind, just tried it on another OS. My key repeat settings made it harder... Changed it as a bugfix (hope it's fine).

dekart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:17am

Haha, awesome game! Made my day :)

Allthebees says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:30am

A simple concept well executed. We had a ton of laughs (no one was injured, I promise!)

kidando says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:10am

Great submission. My brother could not win against me. I have machine gun fingers :)

antonuklein says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Stupid and earblasting at the start, yet it's funny and it now makes me hate myself (since I'm only one player, I had to play as both of them). ;)

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:53am

Made me grin :D. I won every time though (played alone ;( )

Goutye says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08am

For 6 hours, it's not that bad! However, I lose everytime! My right hand, you know, too well trained versus the left one :/

By the way, I noticed you played my game. I just released the Löve2D version (The web one can crash on some navigators). Enjoy it!

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:02am

silly as can be. I had to play by myself but tried out both possibilities and liked the silly use of sound.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:46am

I played this with myself and won BOTH WAYS, mwahaha. Funny sound.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Ha Ha this is nice... L wins ;D Nice little button smasher. +1 for multiplayer... But i could have more characters or mare locations :D But I laughed out loud ;) +1

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Haha. I should try to play this with someone :)

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:15pm

BEST. SFX. EVER.

lkpridgeon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Nice game. I had a few audio issues however nothing audio audio manager couldn't solve.

g12345 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:29am

That was really funny. Made me smile. :)

eerongal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:27am

Nice little game, the aesthetics amused me greatly.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Really neat graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/XuTLfsOkf7k

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Very funny!
Really like the graphics, SFX and music. Could not test the gameplay with someone else, but I'm sure thinks will get broken (computer, pots, bones) when playing this game ;)
Well done!

blohod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Nice game, I played against myself but enjoyed the game anyway, great and nice and simple.
Played on stream at http://www.twitch.tv/meep706

Husky says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:40am

It's simple but interesting lol! and it also fits the theme nicely.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:33am

This was not what we expected, and it was a great surprise. It's rare I play a "physical" video game and have so much fun. We really think you should put this on a mobile device, and set it up at a show/gallery/sidewalk whatever and provide some Gladiator jousting sticks. Imagine DDR mats for each player, and you have to jump....that would be awesome. Great job. good game.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Love it. Gets great score on art and audio :) Clever 2-player game with 2 keys. Nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]