Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Torque

by pianoman373 - Compo Entry

Torque, a whole puzzle game that only uses 2 keys! Rotate the whole world using the A and D keys, and get the ball to the portal while using forcefields, avoiding mines, and the red ball.

This game was made with:

Unity 5.3
GIMP
Blender
BFXR
Audacity

Post-Compo links:

Windows: https://www.dropbox.com/s/cl7qip901rl5rbg/post-compo-torque-windows.zip?dl=1

Linux: https://www.dropbox.com/s/s85zva6dxiv1kcw/post-compo-torque-linux.zip?dl=1

Mac: https://www.dropbox.com/s/qdtu189x2wodmyk/post-compo-torque-mac.zip?dl=1

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#64Fun3.87
#114Graphics3.96
#180Overall3.66
#228Theme4.02
#234Innovation3.57
#276Mood3.28
#378Audio2.86
#500Humor2.34

Comments

pedrocb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57am

Great Game :) I just hoped it had more levels but great job

Allthebees says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:07am

This is a really fun puzzle game, the level design is really good and the mechanics show a lot of promise for more levels. I liked the theme but it felt like some ambient audio was missing (the ball is glowing, would it be making a humming noise?) and for the movement of the map/balls as they roll around it felt a bit silent.

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:12am

Yeah I was literally designing levels in the last minutes. I only added sound in the lasst 15 minutes before the deadline. So i just didn't have enough time to design more levels or audio.
The levels themselves take a ton of planning to get it to work as a puzzle, so they took a big chunk of time out. Also with them being 3D.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:39am

The levels were awesome that you made. It's incredible how with only two controls the puzzles can be so complicated! ( I actually ended up playing it more than once!) Prioritising game play definitely makes sense :)

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:31am

Wow!! Amazing game!! I could imagine making the design for the game must be crazy.... heheheh!! But seriously nice work!!

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:34am

Awesome game! Only complaint is the A and D arrows at the corners of the screen seem to be reversed from the direction they actually move the level... or maybe I'm insane... one of those.

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Huh, I cant really see a problem with the arrows. A goes clockwise and D goes counterclockwise.

UncleChris says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:06pm

I really liked it - very fun game, I too wished for more levels, which totally points to a good game - I wanted to keep playing!

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:18pm

I'm definitely gonna add more levels in a post-LD update sometime soon.

burntcustard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Really nice game. Reminds me of old ball-in-maze puzzle games IRL or on my old phones (back when accelerometers were new and exciting). With some crazier powerups and music I can see it being really REALLY nice!

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Super short, but very promising! I'd love to see a post compo version with more levels and mechanics.

vortex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Great mechanics, gameplay and graphics.
Only negative points are the number of levels and that I didn't notice when I finished them all and just pressed restart...

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:32pm

I liked it, nicely done!

flakoflak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Excellent! i loved the few levels .Congragulations. :P

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Great game based on level design. I think that you can developp even more those mechanics! Nice work

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Simple puzzle game that looks pretty. More levels and it could be a fun app.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Cool, I beat all the levels!
Grat fun, thank you.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Challenging puzzles. I find A and D controls are inverted?

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Ohhhhhh, now I see how it could seem inverted. That took a long time for my brain to see it that way. Man that is so weird how it can be taken two ways like that. It's not really inverted, they could be switched and still make sense. I guess one way or the other is more intuitive for some people.

AwfulMedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Good game! The final level was designed very well. I was hoping to play more levels, though. Looking forward to a post compo version.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:00pm

I liked the puzzle but needed more of it, without sound, reason or levels it felt like a mechanic prototype more than a full game. It was a good mechanic prototype though

ploy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Good puzzle game)

gmatsura says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:52am

I think this game really nailed the 2 button theme, I really enjoyed it.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:07am

Cool mechanic, and a nice exploration of some of its potential -- even in just a few levels. I'd love to see more levels and find out what other interesting ways of using these mechanics that you can find.

qwetro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:12am

Wonderful, I expect there's gonna be a mobile version with more levels :)

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:49am

Oh, man, this is really polished. Very nice.Too bad there is no more levels !
Good job.

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:51am

I wish for more levels! Nice, well-polished execution of the old ball-in-a-rotating-maze game. Every player action felt great, it was visually organized, graphics and sound were crisp, etc.

logorrhea says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:55am

Very nice work! You have great level design sense, and the difficulty curve was spot on.

zguerrero says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:43pm

To short! But very smart gameplay, nice one!

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:32am

Uploaded a post-compo version. It only has two new levels though.

Switchiers says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:56am

A really good game! This game have a real potential.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:47am

Great little puzzle game!

scorched says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Well done! Very short, but I liked it!
P.S. The Play button in fullscreen mode is not working

Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:03pm

A well-made maze-game with a lot of interesting choices design-wise. Both the mines and the red ball added a lot of interesting depth to the experience and kept it fresh, rather than just being another get the ball through the maze-experience.

Only thing I would've liked would possibly have been some more audio or music, 'cause it's very quiet right now and it might have added a little bit more dynamism to the levels so to say.

Otherwise, all in all; pretty nice game. Good job :).

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Hey nice job! :)

emmes says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:47am

Cool graphics, puzzles with a lot of potential. Just way too few, unfortunately. Would love to see the game with a full set of levels.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:41am

Cool concept and the level design were pretty good having in mind the time constraint. Well done guys!

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:16am

Fun! Liked the graphics and the level design; would have loved to see more puzzles.

Akhera says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:21pm

Lots of potential. Too bad, it has so few levels.

crucknuk says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Excellent entry! The concept is brilliant and you definitely MUST add more level to it! Well done ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]