Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Interstellar Cruise

by Drauthius - Jam Entry

== Goal ==
You are to build a space station to meet the needs of visitors who are beamed onto your vessel. Order various kinds of facilities to acquire random shaped parts to accommodate your guests; please them and they will keep paying the citizen tax - fail and face the consequences of bankruptcy. Citizens have needs: hygiene, sleep, hunger and entertainment. If one or more of their needs are not met their happiness level will decrease. When their happiness is low, they will go red, signifying their displeasure with your provided services, and may leave the vessel soon.

== Plot ==
In the distant future where automated production and robotics has made human labour redundant, the biggest problems are boredom and personal well-being. You, a relatively young supercomputer (about 1.2 picoseconds old), after having looked around the immediate vicinity in your solar system, you want to amuse yourself by building a new “Interstellar Cruise Vessel” for bored humans.

== Instructions ==
Click the buttons to acquire the various room types, right mouse button rotates the piece 90 degrees, while left mouse button attaches the part to the already built station if the position is valid.

== Credits ==
Created by a team of four.

Programming: Albert Diserholt
Art: Sunisa Thongdaengdee, Pierre Althinsson & Worai Col
Music & sound: Worai Col

== Highscore ==
Our highscore is 236 inhabitants, can you beat that? :)

== Tips & Tricks ==
1. Start out slowly. More money is gained when more people are in the space station, and the bigger the space station is the higher the upkeep cost. So just start out fulfilling the basic needs, and when the rooms aren't enough, then begin to expand.
2. Using the corridors and four-way connectors is important. A space station with higher interconnectivity means that people can reach their destination faster and fulfill their needs faster. Happy customers are paying customers!
3. The people get bored quickly, and need to be entertained.

== Post-jam versions ==
We've done a few modifications to the game after the jam. These changes are:
* Made it possible to throw away the currently selected piece, for a small fee.
* Made it possible to pause.
* Modified collision detection when placing pieces. It should now be possible to build things a lot closer to each other.
* Added some more visual queues about which room is being built, fixed some graphical anomalies with furniture and people, and added screen shake.
* Big rooms will now take a while before they appear, based on number of pieces already placed.
* The initial portal room is now in the centre of the map.
* People with a great need to use the bathroom will run a bit faster.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#397Innovation(Jam)3.30
#398Overall(Jam)3.43
#522Fun(Jam)3.15
#530Audio(Jam)2.98
#564Mood(Jam)3.16
#615Graphics(Jam)3.26
#619Humor(Jam)2.48
#704Theme(Jam)3.46

Comments

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54am

Really ambitious game, I enjoyed it a lot. I would have liked a way to cancel a selection or place multiple items, but you've done a lot already for a game jam. Everything was super solid - art, sound, design, programming... just great work in general.

JayProg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:07am

Great job! It's fun watching everyone scurry around the ship.

broknecho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:34am

Fun watching the inhabitants wander around. Neat use of a tetris like placement problem. Nice work for a weekend!!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:42am

Really enjoyable game, I wish I could have placed parts in a way that corridors would automatically expand when placing room. Got 84 inhabitants untill I lost all my money :)

lectric.monk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:58am

Fun game, good job! Would love to see the graphics develop on this one, keep it coming!

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Nice game, but a bit hard :/ Or I was really bad at it, reached banckrupcy in like 3 minutes XD

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:47pm

I absolutely LÖVE "Construction and management simulation"-games! This is indeed a very ambitious project and I am impressed by the amount of features and polish that you managed to squeeze into the game in such a limited time frame.

I hope that you will consider continuing development, because it has great potential! :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Really cool idea, well executed for the time you had.

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Cool economic simulator. Great work!

paraxite says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Good game, but was easily exploitable. If you just connect just one of each module in a single line the humans just keep piling into that shaft and never have to leave, so all their need are fulfilled. Other wise very good concept and execution!

trozen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Oooh, took me a bit to realize that every time you make a new room, it's randomly sized and shaped. Very interesting mechanic. A way to abort placement (even if it saved the shape you'd rolled until placement) would make it a bit easier to plan things out.

Great work for a weekend, I hope to hear that this gets some more love after and turned into a fully treated thing for, say, newgrounds.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Since the size of the pieces you buy is randomized early game it can either be easy peasy or rather hard.

There are two rules of thumbs that can help you at any stage of the game though. Abundant usage of the 3 and 4-way passages ensures high connectivity between room types, making it easier for the citizens to traverse short(er) distances in order to have their needs fulfilled. Second, the wee fellows are easily bored, so there must be enough entertainment rooms around.

sleepYxy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:23am

Cool game, it is kind of addicting to build more and more and see your population grow. The scuttling of the little people has a Settlers 2-ish vibe to them and gives a lot of life to the game. I like it!

The story behind it is really neat, but maybe you could have introduced it in a short sequence at the beginning instead of showing it with an image?
I would have liked a way to cancel my selection but maybe that's the hard part of not knowing what you get and where to place it.

shatty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Awesome, well-balanced game!

Karai17 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:14pm

As others have stated, cancelling selection would have been a huge improvement to the game. Otherwise, it's pretty neat. If you could patch that in for a Post-LD release, that would be great!

Ryusui says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:59pm

I have to give this one extra props for being a fellow Love2D entry. ;)

My biggest gripe is there's no way to cancel room/corridor placement once you've selected something. Second place would be how there's no indication what the different types of room are once you've placed them - it would've been nice if the buttons for each room type were color-coded to correspond with the rooms.

And yeah, it feels really unforgiving at present. XD It's hard to determine the exact interplay between happiness and income, for one.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:16am

This is a cool game, and it really leads to a lot of cool patterns! Nice game!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:31pm

this is very ambitious game, it's hard but it makes fun. it will be cool if it would be possible to to switch between next possible rooms

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:57am

Very original concept with nice graphics. I found the difficulty to be very frustrating though, as I just couldn't avoid going to bankruptcy in the early stages trying to placate all the needs. Perhaps I was overbuilding, I dunno.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:13pm

I love simulation games. Graphics reminds me a graphic mod for Dwarf fortress. Good job guys!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:31pm

This game looks big! A real space station sim, I like that!
All post-jam features answer my complaints.

local minimum says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:33pm

I wish this game was much easier. It looks like something I'd like to play for a great while, but I have no chance. First off, I think it would help a lot if the player was given a priority listing making the most critical problems clearly stand out. Second, I think it must be much easer. Especially in the beginning. Sometimes it felt like I didn't get the type of piece I clicked on. If this was a critical fail at e.g. building entertainment, then there's a need for feedback saying that. I think the basic idea is very promising. I would have liked to see different dynamics to different types of problem too. Like entertainment isn't that fast acting, but makes people grumpy for a long time. Maybe they don't like having to walk too far between their food and home and entertainment. And so on. In space, the space shouldn't be the limiting factor really. Great start though and very ambitious for a LD entry.

Jod says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:37pm

I died so quickly... eep!

scorched says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Nice idea! Liked the theme! Though I only got 32 citizens :-)

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Very nice. I did something similar to this (at least in concept, but without people running around) with my game, but I failed to implement everything that I wanted.

The game is not too obvious at first, I bankrupted too easily the first few times. Then I realized I don't need so much TV sets :)

Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Very playable game, overall, very good!

personalurban says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Really fun to play. I couldnt get more than 40-odd inhabitants but will probably have another go to get more! (I've played lots already :) )

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Cool game! It's a nice Sim space station, it's hard and nice to play!
Great work!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:00am

I liked the game, although I am not a fan of this genre. Nice entry.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:54pm

interesting game!

the-arrival says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:26am

ambitious!

Warboys says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:05am

Enjoyable game! I became bankrupt super quickly on my first try as I didn't read the instructions about income clearly xD

After that I felt the game was a little easy, I had very little need to expand or build more than 1/2 of each room as none of the needs were particularly high. Got to around 63 citizens before ending my game.

Like others have said, not being able to cancel selection is a big problem. Sometimes the game wouldn't allow a connection that looked perfectly fine to me, which was frustrating.

Overall though, great game and I'd love to see more of it :)

nucleartide says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:37am

Love the idea. Gameplay was a bit confusing at first, but I eventually got it by zooming in and looking at the characters' responses. :)

Mach60KAS says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Ambitious, but a little unclear. There are a few serious usability issues regarding being unable to get rid of a piece after you pick it - I understand that this is a core part of the puzzle mechanic, but perhaps being able to set it aside temporarily might work a little better? I quite liked the game overall though, keep up the good work!

Krafty says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:43am

Pretty cool game, good job! It was a little bit annoying not being able to deselect items though =O Good job! :)

mr. a says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:59am

Quite engaging! It's kinda like the best parts of having an ant farm (well, speaking in theory, at least--I never had an ant farm with inhabitants, just a weird plastic shape with dirt inside). Glad to see you're working on post-Jam builds!

A few suggestions (maybe they've been addressed in new post-jam builds?):
- I'd like much stronger visual feedback on the state of needs (maybe scale or color-change based on severity)
- Some of Triple-town's features, particularly a swap-spot for an extra tile, or a random chance of getting a destruction tool, would go a long way in extending playability, I think.
- If you buy a specific connector piece, it seems like you should be able to return it, rather than sell it (sometimes I mis-measured).

Mar 30, 2016 @ 4:46pm

Neat idea, love the oddly shaped rooms. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]